Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Legs for Lindsey

Tomorrow night, I’ll being running with Hannah in the 3rd Annual Legs for Lindsey 5K in Evansburg State Park – Collegeville, PA.

The race is a fundraiser for the Sebastian Riding Association, a non-profit, therapeutic riding program located in Evansburg State Park, and it’s also an event to honor Lindsey Anne Hannebury who was one of the riders at Sebastian. For more information about the race click here. Maybe we’ll see you there.

Until the next post…

August 13, 2008 Posted by | running | 2 Comments

The 33-Year-Old Rookie

I’m still on track to make it through the month without TV. By my calculations, I’m about 40% of the way through this thing.

As part of my new found time, I’ve been reading more. I finally finished reading The 33-Year-Old Rookie by Phillies catcher Chris Coste. Here’s my review:

As a big sports fan and Phillies fan, I enjoyed reading this story of how Chris finally made it to the Major Leagues after lots of dreaming and hard work. If you’re a Phillies fan or a fan of baseball, I would recommend this book. Despite my good review, I finished the book with a few questions in mind that I’d love to ask Chris if given the opportunity:

1. In the very end of the book, in the Acknowledgements, you “thank God every day for blessing me with such an awesome path in life.” The book itself doesn’t talk much (if at all) about your faith. Could you expound on it and describe how it has made a difference in your life?

2. Besides dreaming big, what one message would you want to leave your family and friends?

3. Obviously, playing baseball at this level will not be possible for ever. What are your plans after your playing days are over?

Maybe someday, I’ll get the chance to sit down and get the answers to these questions.

Until the next post, it’s on to the next book (Activate)…

August 13, 2008 Posted by | book review | 1 Comment