Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Hoping to Avoid Journal Jinx

I have tried to journal in the past, but I haven’t had a lot of success with this discipline.  I’m hoping this is changing, and I’m hoping that by posting this on my blog it will not jinx the pattern that I’ve had for the past week.  Since last Friday, I’ve kept a journal by my bedside.  Each night before I shut the light off, I write a couple of pages reflecting on the day that has just past.  (My wife is awesome at this.  She has kept a journal for years.)

I have found this new discipline to be quite refreshing.  Some of the things that I’ve written may make it to my blog, and many things will not make it here.  It has been freeing to release my thoughts from the day onto the blank pages of my journal and to know that I can begin a new day with a new blank page.

In my journal, I’ve written about Isaac turning 11 last week, my thoughts on Apollo 13 (the movie), finding God in the mundane things of life, the joys of a weekend with my family, and my thoughts on temporary versus permanent.  I’ve also used my journal to express my thanks to God along with bringing Him my burdens.

I hope this is something that will continue.  In a small way, I’m hoping that blogging about it will help keep me accountable to this new discipline.

So ask me how I’m doing with my journal when you run into me in person or on the information highway.

Do you journal?  If so, how long have you kept a journal?  What has helped you to stay consistent with your journal?  Does consistency matter?  If you do not journal?  Why not?

I’d love to hear your thoughts!

May 13, 2011 - Posted by | thoughts

4 Comments »

  1. Interesting, journaling is something I have struggled with as well. I have tried journaling but not been successful sticking with it.

    It has become actually a matter of serious regret. There are aspects of my life that are fading into the past that were quite joyful for me, but I didn’t journal about them and now I don’t have much of a record of the people or events.

    When I was younger, I saw journaling as a form of psychotherapy and would write about my problems. My motivation now is different. I want a record of the good things of my life, because nothing lasts forever.

    Jon, you may have inspired to try once again!

    A ton of respect for your blog. I wish more people were writing about topics of more personal significance. The Internet is filled with a ton of nonsense, This blog is a diamond in the haystack.

    Comment by Michael Shaw, your friend in Skippack | May 13, 2011 | Reply

    • Michael, I’m humbled by your comments. Thank you!

      I read something interesting last night by John Ortberg that was somewhat enlightening for my journal. He was talking about developing the discipline of prayer, but I think it can apply to my journal as well. I don’t have the direct quote right now, but he was suggesting that if you were trying to develop the discipline of prayer that you should pick a time and place and commit to praying no more and no less than five minutes each day in that place and at that time. I think for my journal it’s kind of the same thing, if I can commit to write two pages each night – no more and no less, I think I can find more consistency for my journal.

      Your comment about things fading into the past is very true. I don’t feel that old, but I do feel that it gets more challenging to remember things from the past. Preserving my memories and learning from my past will be a huge motivator for keeping up with my journal.

      Have a wonderful day!

      Comment by jonstolpe | May 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. […] blurb from my journal dated […]

    Pingback by The Power of the Next Question « Jon Stolpe Stretched | May 20, 2011 | Reply

  3. […] I look back on the last four years of my blog and the last two months of my journal, I can see God’s faithfulness.  I can see areas of challenge and growth in my life.  And I […]

    Pingback by Transformation Reminders – Looking Back Brings Perspective « Jon Stolpe Stretched | July 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment