Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Pile of Rocks

I’ve recently been thinking about blogging.  For me it often feels like when I get a chance to blog, I’m not inspired.  And when I’m inspired to blog, I don’t have time for writing.  I’m sure many bloggers and writers can relate to this paradox.  To be honest, I feel like I’ve bounced between these two ends of the spectrum – especially this past year.  I think this is the reason many “successful” bloggers are those who find the discipline to be consistent.  I guess I just haven’t hit my stride yet in this area.  I thrive on routine.  For example, I’ve been running just about every day for the past four months (and it’s paid off with a weight loss of ~27 pounds).  I have found a way to stay in God’s word on a daily basis.  This morning, my reading in Joshua 4 reminded me of an important aspect to my blogging.

1 When the whole nation had finished crossing the Jordan, the LORD said to Joshua, 2 “Choose twelve men from among the people, one from each tribe, 3 and tell them to take up twelve stones from the middle of the Jordan, from right where the priests are standing, and carry them over with you and put them down at the place where you stay tonight.”

4 So Joshua called together the twelve men he had appointed from the Israelites, one from each tribe, 5 and said to them, “Go over before the ark of the LORD your God into the middle of the Jordan. Each of you is to take up a stone on his shoulder, according to the number of the tribes of the Israelites, 6 to serve as a sign among you. In the future, when your children ask you, ‘What do these stones mean?’ 7 tell them that the flow of the Jordan was cut off before the ark of the covenant of the LORD. When it crossed the Jordan, the waters of the Jordan were cut off. These stones are to be a memorial to the people of Israel forever.”

8 So the Israelites did as Joshua commanded them. They took twelve stones from the middle of the Jordan, according to the number of the tribes of the Israelites, as the LORD had told Joshua; and they carried them over with them to their camp, where they put them down. 9 Joshua set up the twelve stones that had been in the middle of the Jordan at the spot where the priests who carried the ark of the covenant had stood. And they are there to this day.

In a way, my blog is like the pile of rocks that the Israelites left on the bank of the Jordan.  Blogging reminds me of God’s faithfulness through the ups and downs of life.  It allows me to celebrate and remember life’s milestones.  It gives me a chance to reflect on life.  Maybe one day, it will be an opportunity to share with my children and grandchildren how God was working in this man’s life.

So why do you blog?  Why do you read this blog?

 

April 11, 2011 - Posted by | thoughts

4 Comments »

  1. Good post, Jon.

    I enjoy your blog because it let’s people know something about who you are and your life. To me, too much blogging on the Internet is people yapping away about things they don’t know anything about. I believe the point of it all is to foster communication.

    Blogging, and writing in general, can be for the good if we use it make a record of and develop our appreciation of the good things in this world and the many blessings God gives us everyday.

    I would add that not only are you creating a legacy for your children and grandchildren, there is also the likelihood that a stranger will stumble across your blog one day and may be helped by it.

    Comment by Michael Shaw | April 11, 2011 | Reply

  2. Love you Jon! I am proud of you and wish I was
    as disciplined as you are. Thank you for sharing your self and your ups and downs and how God is at work in your life.

    Comment by Mom | April 12, 2011 | Reply

  3. Love the story Jon! Blogging for me, too, is a great way to reflect on life – and to share it.

    Comment by Steven | June 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Steven,

      Thanks for the comment and encouragement.

      Comment by jonstolpe | June 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment