Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Ice Breaker – My First Car

It’s that time of the week again…time for an ice breaker question!  Since it’s the first ice breaker of the year, I thought I would ask a question about firsts.  For those of you who are new or who forgot, ice breaker questions are used to help people get to know each other – to “break the ice” so to speak.  I love hearing what other people have to say and how they think.  So for today, I’m excited to throw out another simple ice breaker question.  I’ll answer it first, then it’s your turn.  Answer the question by leaving a comment for us all to enjoy.  Thanks!

Question:  What was (or is) your first car?

My Answer:  Here you go….

My answer will be pretty simple.  My first car was a 1974 Chevy Nova.  It was midnight blue with a white hard top.  It had a straight six cylinder engine in it, and I could stand next to the engine if I lifted the hood.  The Nova had four doors and a JVC stereo that I installed.  The ceiling fabric was falling down, so I used push pins to hold it up.  It had an Oakley sticker in the back window.  The Nova felt like it was floating when I drove down the highway.  I’ll always have fond memories of the Nova.

So there you have it, my answer to the question.  Now it’s your turn….I can’t wait to hear what you’ve got to say!

January 6, 2012 - Posted by | car, Ice Breaker, questions, stretch, thoughts | , , ,

14 Comments »

  1. Jon, I like your ice-breaker idea!

    Well, my first car was a 5-seater Omni from Maruti Suzuki – India (you may check out the picture here: http://www.marutiomni.com/features.asp). I enjoyed driving it because I felt like I was driving a mini bus! It ran on twin-fuel (LPG gas & Petrol) engines. My wife and I used to travel many miles in it until the Lord gave us another new vehicle.

    Comment by Joe Abraham | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  2. My first car was a 1979 Pea Green Chevy Chevette. 4 door. With a similar stereo that you had. I actually had this car airborne once.

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  3. My first car was a 1972 Volkswagen Super Beetle that my dad had completely restored. It was orange with black interior. It was four speed manual with no AC. I loved my Bug and wish I still had it. I drove it until I could buy my first car.

    Comment by Leah Adams | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  4. My first car was a ’69 Rambler Ambassador. I was in college and bought it for $1000. It was at a body shop and the frame had been bent. But in one year I put over 39k miles on that beast! It was done in by a horse but still ran. It was big. Roomie. Had air that I finally decided to use. Had just a radio and I put in a…get this…an 8 Track player. LOL I traded it for a ’73 Lime Green Duster. I liked the Rambler better.

    Comment by bill (cycleguy) | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  5. My first Car was a 2000 saturn coupe…i loved that car…i’m not ashamed to say my parents bought it for me!!!!! lol…

    Comment by Arny Sanchez | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  6. 1968 Falcon. I lucked out because it was given to the first grandchild to get their license and my two older sisters didn’t get theirs. One waited until she was 40 and the other still doesn’t have one. But that’s another story. The Falcon was dark blue and I had Mustang hubcaps with spokes and on it, I replaced the front bench seat with Mustang buckle seats (no seat belts) and i put in a Craig stereo. It was known around school as the Falcmobile. I miss all of the chrome and I still stare whenever i see a Falcon on the road. Some day maybe I will get one again.

    Stretch Mark

    Comment by Mark Falcone | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  7. My first car… Which I got last year, is a 98’Pontiac Bonneville! It is awesome! Haha

    Comment by Brandon | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  8. My first car was a ’91 Jeep Cherokee… man, I wish I still had that thing. It was a beauty!

    Comment by Dustin | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  9. White 1982 Pontiac Grand Prix… Luxury! I miss that car!

    Comment by Jeff RandlemanRandleman | January 6, 2012 | Reply

    • My Pontiac is white! haha

      Comment by Brandon | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  10. 94 Mazda Mx3… Little red hatchback… it worked for like 9 months then set in front of my house for another couple years while I borrowed my parents old car… But those 9 months were awesome

    Comment by SethCaddell | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  11. My first car was a 1985 Hyundai Pony, complete with vinyl seats, manual clutch and manual steering. Parallel parking was a workout! The hatchback was just big enough to fit all of my hockey equipment. I got close to 120,000 miles out of it.

    Comment by Larry Hehn | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  12. […] Friday (this actually posted Saturday do to a visit to me by the stomach flu):  Ice Breaker – My First Car […]

    Pingback by January 7, 2012 Week In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  13. 1976 Mustang II. With a V8 that made it half the car with twice the engine. Dark blue with a JVC radio that came when Dad bought the car. It was great for a 15 year old, and is part of the reason I’m glad they don’t let 15 yr olds drive anymore (that and the fact I have a 14 year old). I still remember the first time I heard the new Boston album Third Stage in it, particularly Cool The Engines. Seems like yesterday.

    Comment by Jonathan | January 8, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

