Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

One Word For 2012: Transformed

If you had to pick one word to focus on in 2012, what would it be?

For me, I’m choosing the word transformed.

Transformed means to be changed.  You might even say that transformed means to be stretched.

I want my life to be transformed by my relationship with God.

A lot of great things happened in 2011, but I felt like it was a year for recovery (not that this is a bad thing).  I want 2012 to be about moving forward and being transformed.  When I think of transformation, I think of growth.  I think of metamorphosis.  I want to grow closer to God in 2012.  I want to pray bigger and bolder prayers.

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.  Romans 12:2

So there you have it – my word for 2012.  You can check out what words other people are choosing as part of the One Word 365 Community.  What’s your word?

January 4, 2012 - Posted by | One Word 365, stretch, thoughts, transformed | ,

21 Comments »

  1. Transformed — Jon, I respect where you are coming from from a theological perspective but don’t change TOO MUCH. I like you the way you are.

    Comment by Michael Shaw | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • You’re too kind. Thanks!

      It sounds like you get what I’m saying. Too reassure you, I’ll try not to TRANSFORM the good stuff.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Comment by jonstolpe | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. Great word. It’s so easy to get to what’s comfortable and then stay there. Transformation is hard. It’s hard to continually move forward. It’s hard but it’s worth it.

    Comment by robshep | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • I like the idea of this challenge. I don’t want to be complacent or overly comfortable with where I’m at. I want to keep growing.

      Comment by jonstolpe | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  3. Community. I want greater community with my brothers and sisters in Christ.

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • I love this!

      Comment by jonstolpe | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  4. that verse sounds familiar. lol…

    good one Jon…

    Comment by Arny Sanchez | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Funny, you came to mind after I settled on this word. I loved your posts about TRANSFORMERS last year.

      Comment by jonstolpe | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  5. “Stolpify.”
    ‘Nuff said

    Comment by Dan M. | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • OK, not that that’s a bad thing, but I would aim higher. Hope all is well with your growing family.

      Comment by jonstolpe | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  6. Jon, for my teaching series in the initial months of 2012, I have selected “TRANSFORMATION” as the topic! Is that coincidence? I don’t think so!

    Comment by Joe Abraham | January 4, 2012 | Reply

    • Will you be blogging about this?

      Comment by jonstolpe | January 4, 2012 | Reply

      • I have not yet planned to blog it. But I may!

        Comment by Joe Abraham | January 5, 2012 | Reply

  7. Hey, Jon this is a great topic for Men’s group. For me the word is “Obedient.” I also made this my resolution for the New Year, to be obedient to His plan and not my own. In addition to that to be more service oriented, to focus on serving others before myself.

    Comment by Michael E. Grasso | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  8. This is tough. Transformed means change and often painful. But oh so necessary in my life as well.

    I hope that at the end of 2012 I can still recognized you and you are not too transformed. 🙂

    Comment by Moe | January 4, 2012 | Reply

  9. I did the oneword thing last year. This year the only word I want to focus on is a name–Jesus.

    Comment by seekingpastor | January 5, 2012 | Reply

  10. Maybe you’ll become a Transformer? 😉

    Comment by Dustin | January 6, 2012 | Reply

  11. […] Wednesday:  One Word For 2012: Transformed […]

    Pingback by January 7, 2012 Week In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | January 7, 2012 | Reply

  12. […] so I stretch!  (In a year of being transformed, transformation of my motives is a great place to […]

    Pingback by Don’t Hold A Press Conference « Jon Stolpe Stretched | January 10, 2012 | Reply

  13. Excellent question and choice of word. Off the cuff, I’d choose “Christ-centered,” but it’s worth deeper consideration. As for 2012, be sure you go for 366 days instead of just 365 😉

    Comment by Tom Grosh IV | January 11, 2012 | Reply

    • Christ-centered is an excellent word for 2012.

      366…one of my friends is celebrating his 13th or 14th (?) birthday this year – thanks to Leap Day.

      Comment by jonstolpe | January 11, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

