Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Ice Breaker – Favorite Toy

It’s that time of the week again…one more ice breaker question before Christmas!  I’m going to stay with a Christmas related question again for one more week.  For those of you who are new or who forgot, ice breaker questions are used to help people get to know each other – to “break the ice” so to speak.  I love hearing what other people have to say and how they think.  So for today, I’m excited to throw out another simple ice breaker question.  I’ll answer it first, then it’s your turn.  Answer the question by leaving a comment for us all to enjoy.  Thanks!

Question:  What was one of your favorite toys as a child?

My Answer:  Here you go….

I can think of several of my favorite toys growing up like Matchbox and Hot Wheels cars, Legos, Lincoln Logs, and Tinker Toys.  To be honest, I still love playing with these things.  But there’s one toy I wish I still had – The Green Machine.  For those of you who didn’t grow up in the late 70s and early 80s, The Green Machine was the Michael Jordan of Big Wheels.  The Green Machine had two handles that you used to steer the back two wheels, and it was longer and lower to the ground than the typical Big Wheel.  I still remember riding my Green Machine down the street and picking up as much speed as possible.  When I reached top speed.  I would push one of the handles forward and pull the other handle back.  This would throw The Green Machine into an incredible spin as the plastic wheels slid across the pavement.  My understanding is that they actually make an adult size version of this classic.  Maybe next Christmas…!

So there you have it, my answer to the question.  Now it’s your turn….I can’t wait to hear what you’ve got to say!

December 23, 2011 - Posted by | Christmas, gifts, Green Machine, questions, stretch, thoughts, toys | , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. Hello my friend Jon. WHen I was a kid had this toy, I don’t remember what is was called, but it was a kit with a small, square stove, metal molds, and bottles filled with glop in multiple collars. You pored the glop into a mold, placed the mold in the stove, cooked it and out came a plastic bug or a trolls head and feet which you place on a pencil. Man, I love it. I have never seen this toy or a reproduction of it in a store since I have grown up. I think because of safety regulations such a toy might no longer be allowed.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year Jon. May this be a year of peace and blessings for you and your family!

    Comment by Michael Shaw | December 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. We were pretty poor so all our gifts were simple ones. I think the one I remember the most was the Lone Ranger and Silver figure that I got. I remember spending hours and hours playing with it, using my imagination. Other than a board game or two, our Christmases were usually things we needed (socks, pants, shirts, etc). I knew my parents sacrificed a lot to make our Christmas a good one.

    Comment by bill (cycleguy) | December 23, 2011 | Reply

  3. I had some great toys, but the ones I played with the most were G.I. Joes. I also went through a phase were I played a lot with Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

    Comment by robshep | December 23, 2011 | Reply

  4. I had an Eval Knievel action figure with motorcycle. You put the motorcycle in a a crank. You would crank it until he took off. I also had the case that looked like a bus and turned into a ramp.

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | December 23, 2011 | Reply

  5. But I may have to get one of those adult Green Machines.

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | December 23, 2011 | Reply

  6. I had one of those Green Machines! Loved it!

    But I also loved the Erector Set I had that came in a big yellow plastic case. I built so much with that thing, I’m surprised I’m not an enginerr….

    Comment by Jeff Randleman | December 23, 2011 | Reply

  7. […] Monday’s post was titled My Treasure & My Heart was an opportunity to share some of my wrestling over time and priorities.  I really appreciate the empathy and encouragement expressed in the comments for this post.  Tuesday brought a visit from Jonathan Pearson.  Jonathan did an excellent job sharing the stretching of a young leader.  Wednesday, I started to share the top 5 posts for the year.  The number 5 post for the year was a great guest post by my wonderful wife.  She shared about Detours that she has experienced over the past year or two.  On Thursday, I shared the 4th most popular Stretched post of 2011 – Locks of Love – about my daughter’s generous donation.  And finally and Friday, I shared another fun Ice Breaker about our favorite toys. […]

    Pingback by Christmas Eve 2011 Week In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | December 24, 2011 | Reply

  8. Jon, the Green Machine sounds epic! I never had one of those (by the time my parents had money to get us more than basic presents I was too big for a big wheel). If you get an adult version, you’ll have to post about it! Maybe we can race someday (if you got one, I’d have to, lol)!

    As for my favorite toy, I don’t think it’s a toy as much as an experience. My favorite part of Christmas has always been my big family. I live almost a thousand miles away from my aunts, uncles and grand parents. On Christmas day all 40 of us converge on one house and celebrate together. It’s a beautiful holiday!

    For me, that’s always been the best part of Christmas. It’s not technically a present, but it’s the gift I most enjoy.

    Comment by Alex Humphrey | December 24, 2011 | Reply

  9. […] 8.  Ice Breaker – Favorite Toy […]

    Pingback by December 2011 Top Posts « Jon Stolpe Stretched | January 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

