Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Potential, Position, and Pain (A Guest Post by Jonathan Pearson)

Today, I have the privilege of presenting guest blogger, Jonathan Pearson.

Jonathan Pearson

Jonathan Pearson is the Communications Pastor at Cornerstone Church, Assistant Director of The Sticks, and co-creator of MillennialLeader.com. Jonathan writes, tweets, & speaks to inspire people to work together to reshape the world. Jonathan can be found online at JonathanPearson.net and on twitter as @JonathanPearson. Jonathan is married to Melissa and the two live in Orangeburg, S.C.

(I’m always looking for opportunities to share others stretching stories.  Please leave me a comment if you’re interesting in guest posting at Jon Stolpe Stretched!)

We all have those things that we’re uncomfortable with…

Those things that we find ourselves insecure about.

Those things we dread because we know we’re not good in a particular situation.

Those things that when forced to, we do OK in, but we don’t want to be forced to.

And then we have those things that we’re uncomfortable with but know are a necessary inconvenience.

Those things that we know, if we do them, we’ll lead us beyond where we are.

Those things that, once we get through them, take us to another level.

Those things that stretch us.

For me, it’s being young and leading people older than me.

Everyday of my life, it stretches me to think different, remain humble, and love those I lead.

Everyday, it forces me to get uncomfortable, to seek God, and to do the very best I can.

Some days, I screw it up.

Some days, I knock it out of the park.

But if I was never in over my head,

if I was never forced to get uncomfortable,

I’d never grow.

My potential would never be reached.

It’s in those times of tough, hard nosed, in over your head times of leadership that we’re prepared for our destiny… that we’re prepared for the God sized calling in our lives.

Don’t regret or detest what stretches you.

What’s stretching you these days?

December 20, 2011 - Posted by | blog spotlight, guest blogger, Jonathan Pearson, leadership, life, stretch, thoughts

12 Comments »

  1. One particular thing stretching me is my attempt to read the Bible in 90 days. Some days I do well and others, not so hot.

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | December 20, 2011 | Reply

    • This is an ambitious goal. I’m doing well to get through it in a year.

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 20, 2011 | Reply

  2. Great post. “if I was never forced to get uncomfortable, I’d never grow. My potential would never be reached.” Lately, I’ve feeling God nudging me to think beyond my blog. My blog is comfortable. Thinking beyond it scares me because I know the next step will take so much more work and discipline. God sure can be pushy, sometimes. 😉

    Comment by eileen | December 20, 2011 | Reply

    • ha. Yes he can. Sometimes, we just have to take a leap with stuff like that. Praying you get it all sorted out. Thanks, Eileen.

      Comment by Jonathan Pearson | December 20, 2011 | Reply

  3. Great to see Jonathan over here on Stretched! 🙂

    Comment by Brandon | December 20, 2011 | Reply

    • I agree! Stop over at his blog and let him know how much you appreciated his post here today. Thanks!

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Brandon!

      Comment by Jonathan Pearson | December 20, 2011 | Reply

  4. Lately, the idea of leading my family spiritually is stretching me nowadays — more specifically, what I want that to look like in 2012.

    Comment by Dustin | December 20, 2011 | Reply

  5. Amen Jonathan!

    Insecurities, Fear, and Out of Our Comfort Zones, Oh My! Overcoming these things lead us to better places. If we cannot see it as a better place, it is at least better in God’s eyes. Extraordinarily, it is with trust in God that we can work through these things most easily, these that will get us in a better place in His eyes.

    We have some choices in our journey – staying safe and avoiding that which is uncomfortable is one choice. But, I believe sooner or later God will present us with opportunities to stretch, including times where we have no choice. Doing it with Christ in our hearts is the key to making it possibly easier and ending up in a better place.

    God – fear Him, revere Him, love Him and know that His way is the easiest way because in the end there is only His way – through Christ.

    I hope that wasn’t too scattered. I am just writing without thinking of content layout and presentation. Maybe when I learn to write with better flow Jon Stolpe will ask me to be a guest blogger!

    Comment by Mark Falcone | December 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Mark,

      I’d love to have you guest blog here on The Stretched Blog. I think you have a lot to share and add to the conversation.

      Let me know when you’re ready. How about something to post in the first half of January?

      You the man!

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 20, 2011 | Reply

    • ha. Love honest writing. My thoughts are often scattered too. Maybe that’s something else to ‘stretch’ us! 🙂

      Comment by Jonathan Pearson | December 20, 2011 | Reply

  6. […] this post.  Tuesday brought a visit from Jonathan Pearson.  Jonathan did an excellent job sharing the stretching of a young leader.  Wednesday, I started to share the top 5 posts for the year.  The number 5 post for the year was […]

    Pingback by Christmas Eve 2011 Week In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | December 24, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

