Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Ice Breaker – Christmas Songs and Carols

It’s that time of the week again…time for an ice breaker question!  In keeping with last week’s theme, I’m going to stay with a Christmas related question again this week.  For those of you who are new or who forgot, ice breaker questions are used to help people get to know each other – to “break the ice” so to speak.  I love hearing what other people have to say and how they think.  So for today, I’m throwing out another simple ice breaker question.  I’ll answer it first, then it’s your turn.  Answer the question by leaving a comment for us all to enjoy.  Thanks!

Question:  What is your favorite Christmas song or carol?

My Answer:  Here you go….

I think I’ll answer this twice.  My first answer will be my favorite secular Christmas song, and the second is my favorite Christmas song that you might hear on the local pop radio station.  For my first song, it may surprise you to know that I really like the song, In A Bleak Midwinter.  Before you get to flustered let me explain.  I realize it’s not the most up beat song, but the words of this song speak volumes – especially the last verse:

1.	In the bleak midwinter, frosty wind made moan,
	earth stood hard as iron, water like a stone;
	snow had fallen, snow on snow, snow on snow,
	in the bleak midwinter, long ago.

2.	Our God, heaven cannot hold him, nor earth sustain;
	heaven and earth shall flee away when he comes to reign.
	In the bleak midwinter a stable place sufficed
	the Lord God Almighty, Jesus Christ. 

3.	Angels and archangels may have gathered there,
	cherubim and seraphim thronged the air;
	but his mother only, in her maiden bliss,
	worshiped the beloved with a kiss. 

4.	What can I give him, poor as I am?
	If I were a shepherd, I would bring a lamb;
	if I were a Wise Man, I would do my part;
	yet what I can I give him:  give my heart.

And my favorite Christmas radio classic?  Bruce Springsteen singing Santa Claus Is Coming To Town.  How can you beat the saxophone solo and the part when Bruce tells Clarence that Santa might bring him a new saxophone.  How can you beat that?

So there you have it, my answer to the question.  Now it’s your turn….I can’t wait to hear what you’ve got to say!

December 9, 2011 - Posted by | Christmas, Christmas movies, Christmas season, looking back, movies, questions, thoughts

15 Comments »

  1. I don’t know how I missed this but is the snow new to your blog? I keep seeing snow flakes. Very cool. Favorite Christmas song is Christmas in Hollis by Run DMC & my new favorite is The Night before Christmas by Brandon Heath.

    Comment by robshep | December 9, 2011 | Reply

    • Christmas and Run DMC! Could you ask for anything more?

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 11, 2011 | Reply

  2. Jon–since you just saw my list over on my blog — http://deuceology.wordpress.com — it depends on the day and mood. I always like The Christmas Song. I’m feeling New Wave/Punk of late, so Christmas Wrapping by The Waitresses.

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | December 9, 2011 | Reply

  3. I like Twisted Sister’s “Come All Ye Faithful.”. Brings tears to my eyes!

    Comment by Pastor Matt | December 9, 2011 | Reply

    • I don’t think I’ve heard this one before…I’ll have to see if it’s on Spotify.

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 11, 2011 | Reply

  4. oh holy night…

    and carol of the bells…trans sabirian orchestra!

    Comment by Arny Sanchez | December 9, 2011 | Reply

    • TSO…definitely a good one!

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 11, 2011 | Reply

  5. I love Carol of the Bells! The electric guitar lines are amazing!

    Comment by Brandon | December 9, 2011 | Reply

    • That’s two votes for TSO.

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 11, 2011 | Reply

  6. I’ve always loved Silent Night.

    Comment by Dustin | December 10, 2011 | Reply

    • There’s something peaceful about singing Silent Night at a Christmas Eve candle light service.

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 11, 2011 | Reply

  7. So many to chose from. I really like the twelve days of Christmas.

    Comment by Dan Black on Leadership | December 10, 2011 | Reply

    • I think the best version of this song is performed by the Muppets.

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 11, 2011 | Reply

  8. […] through the comments and on Facebook.  Finally, we finished the week off on Friday with another holiday Ice Breaker where we learned about everyone’s favorite Christmas songs and carols.  As always, […]

    Pingback by December 10th, 2011 Week In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | December 10, 2011 | Reply

  9. […] 3.  Ice Breaker – Christmas Songs and Carols […]

    Pingback by December 2011 Top Posts « Jon Stolpe Stretched | January 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

