Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Leaders Are Readers – Creating My Reading List For 2012

“Leaders are readers.”

I’ve heard Tim Sanders quote this in several interviews on the radio and on podcasts.

It seems to me that there is a lot of truth to this statement.  When we feed our minds (with good stuff), we fill it up with tools that are useful for leading and for life.  With this in mind, I am beginning to assemble a list of potential books to consider reading in 2012.  I should let you know that I’m generally a slow and very deliberate reader, so I’m planning to narrow the list down to twelve with a couple of alternates.  Here are some of the books that I’m considering so far:

The Circle Maker by Mark Batterson

EntreLeadership by Dave Ramsey

Today We Are Rich by Tim Sanders

The No Complaining Rule by Jon Gordon

Community:  Taking Your Small Group Off Life Support by Brad House

Creating Community:  Five Keys To Building A Small Group Culture by Andy Stanley

So these are a few of my ideas.  I will most likely throw in a fiction book or two (or three).

Now I’d like to hear your thoughts.  What would you add to the list?  What’s on your “To Read List”?  What have you read recently that you think I should consider?  I can’t wait to see what you’ve got!

December 5, 2011 - Posted by | book review, leadership, Let's get it started, small groups, stretch, thoughts

18 Comments »

  1. The only specific books I’ve put on the list so far are The Chronicles of Narnia. I’ve never read them.

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | December 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Definitely a must read. My dad read these books to me as a kid, and I’ve had the chance to read them to my kids. Love it!

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 5, 2011 | Reply

  2. I would suggest that if you like to read fiction/fantasy you include the first two of Bryan Litfin’s trilogy called The Sword and The Gift. I also found Beautiful Outlaw by Eldredge and good read. Average Joe by Troy Meeder was a good one on men. I am currently reading Bonhoeffer but confess it may take me awhile…a long while.

    Comment by bill (cycleguy) | December 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Bonhoeffer was incredible!! I thoroughly enjoyed it and have downloadedanother book by Metaxes for 2012 reading.

      Comment by Leah Adams | December 5, 2011 | Reply

      • Hey Leah! thanks for the encouragement. I tend to be a slow reader at times…depending on what is going on in my life at the moment. With Christmas happening, it is a little slower. But I am determined to finish it. I just now got to the point where he arrived back in Berlin and met Karl Barth. So…i still have a long way to go. 🙂

        Comment by bill (cycleguy) | December 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for these suggestions. I will definitely check them out!

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  3. Ok, now this will sound weird, but I believe Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers is a book every Christian should read. It is based on the book of Hosea and it a stunningly beautiful reminder of God’s unconditional, redeeming love. Yes, it’s a love story and a man probably would not want to be seen holding a love story in his hands…..but that’s the beauty of the NOOK or Kindle. No one will know but you!

    Another really awesome book is “Tired of Trying to Measure Up” by Jeff van VonDeren.

    Comment by Leah Adams | December 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for the ideas, Leah! I don’t have the NOOK or Kindle yet, but maybe someday….!

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  4. Jesus + Nothing = Everything by Pastor Tullian.
    A Praying Life by Paul E. Miller (I’m reading this now!)
    Maybe some of Seth Godin’s more obscure books.

    Comment by Loren Pinilis | December 5, 2011 | Reply

    • Loren, These look like some great suggestions. I’ll check them out.

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  5. Guerilla Lovers by Vince Antonucci!

    Comment by Brandon | December 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Great book! Vince has actually been at our church a couple of times – what an amazing speaker!

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  6. By the way, I see that you also added snow to the blog! I love this feature that WP is doing!

    Comment by Brandon | December 6, 2011 | Reply

    • I heard about it from you, but I figured it out the other day when I was plunking around with some of the blog settings. Thanks for the suggestion!

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 6, 2011 | Reply

  7. I’ve heard good things about “The Bible.” Thinking about tackling it. Should take, what, a week or two?

    Comment by Pastor Matt | December 7, 2011 | Reply

  8. Great list. I’m posting on this topic tomorrow. I would add John Maxwell’s newest book “The 5 Levels of Leadership.” I also have a couple more to add from your list to my book list.

    Comment by Dan Black on Leadership | December 7, 2011 | Reply

  9. […] I kicked off the week with a post about my reading list for 2012.  Thanks to all of you who gave me ideas to add to my list of consideration.  If you missed it, […]

    Pingback by December 10th, 2011 Week In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | December 10, 2011 | Reply

  10. […] 9.  Leaders Are Readers – Creating My Reading List For 2012 […]

    Pingback by December 2011 Top Posts « Jon Stolpe Stretched | January 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

