Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Ice Breaker – Christmas Movies

It’s that time of the week again…time for an ice breaker question!  For those of you who are new or who forgot, ice breaker questions are used to help people get to know each other – to “break the ice” so to speak.  I love hearing what other people have to say and how they think.  So for today, I’m throwing out another simple ice breaker question.  I’ll answer it first, then it’s your turn.  Answer the question by leaving a comment for us all to enjoy.  Thanks!

Question:  What is your favorite Christmas movie?

My Answer:  Here you go….

If you have ABC Family coming to your TV, they are promoting their annual 25 Days of Christmas movie event where they show 25 different Christmas movies leading up to Christmas Day.  I don’t catch most of them, but it’s hard for me not to get a little excited about Christmas when I see some of the movies.  I’m a sucker for movies like Polar Express, The Santa Clause, and Home Alone.  But my favorite Christmas movie doesn’t usually make it to ABC Family’s list.

My favorite Christmas movie of all time…are you ready…drumroll…It’s A Wonderful Life.  I know it’s an old one, but I love the story, the humor, and the timeless message of the movie.  I love how Jimmy Stewart gets a second chance once he discovers how different life would be if he had never been born.  This movie is usually shown on Christmas Eve, so I try to catch it after we get home from the Christmas Eve service at church.

(By the way, Christmas Vacation and A Christmas Story would probably make my top 5 list.)

So there you have it, my answer to the question.  Now it’s your turn….I can’t wait to hear what you’ve got to say!

December 2, 2011 - Posted by | Christmas, Christmas movies, looking back, movies, questions, thoughts

25 Comments »

  1. My Thanksgiving Day tradition is to watch my 2 favorite movies: “Wonderful Life” (#1 far and away) and the Santa Clause. During the month of December I will watch Santa Clause 2, Polar Express and White Christmas. I will catch glimpses of Christmas Story on TBS on their 24 hour marathon. First time I saw it i thought it was stupidest movie I had ever seen (and told my f-i-l and b-i-l that). Now I chuckle through it.

    Comment by bill (cycleguy) | December 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Sometimes it’s good to laugh!

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 2, 2011 | Reply

  2. Elf and or Home Alone are my favorites. We watch both of those every year and I laugh every time I watch them.

    Comment by robshep | December 2, 2011 | Reply

    • I’ve seen Elf once before, but it hasn’t sunk in yet as one of my favorites. I hear it will if I give it a chance.

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  3. We always kick off the Christmas movie season with Christmas Vacation. Elf has become a favorite. I like Holiday Inn and White Christmas.

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | December 2, 2011 | Reply

    • We saw White Christmas the musical in Philadelphia last year. What a great way to celebrate the holidays! I don’t think that I’ve seen Holiday Inn.

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  4. Have you guys noticed we read and comment on the same blogs.

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | December 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Great minds think alike?

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  5. My mother used to watch It’s a Wonderful Life multiple times every Christmas, so that ranks up there. And Elf is a new favorite.

    Comment by Loren Pinilis | December 2, 2011 | Reply

    • I keep hearing about Elf! I’ll have to check it out again.

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  6. It’s A Wonderful Life, hands down. Closely followed by National Lampoon’s Christmmas Vacation.

    Comment by Jeff Randleman | December 2, 2011 | Reply

    • I agree.

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  7. A Christmas Story…
    Home Alone 2…new york!
    It’s a wonderful life.
    Christmas Vacation…
    Elf is a good one too…

    Comment by Arny Sanchez | December 2, 2011 | Reply

    • There’s nothing like the slap stick comedy of the Home Alone movies.

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  8. For the longest time my favorite was “It’s a Wonderful Life,” but in the last 2 years it has been moved to second place behind . . . . “The Muppet’s Christmas Carol.”

    Comment by bschebs | December 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Brent, I just saw the new Muppets movie. They are great. The humor is hilarious. I think most of it went over my head as a kid, but it’s so funny now!

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  9. Mine would for sure be It’s a Wonderful Life. Followed by Christmas Vacation, A Christmas Story, Home Alone, Polar Express, and Charlie Brown’s Christmas

    Comment by Adam | December 2, 2011 | Reply

    • I like Polar Express (and all the other ones you mentioned). The Charlie Brown Christmas is easily the BEST Christmas TV special out there. You cannot beat Linus’ speech about the true meaning of Christmas!

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  10. […] my monthly recap post on what went down in November.  Friday finished things off with another fun Ice Breaker about Christmas movies.  This week we learned that It’s A Wonderful Christmas Story when you go on Vacation with an […]

    Pingback by Thanksgiving Saturday! Week In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | December 3, 2011 | Reply

  11. […] my monthly recap post on what went down in November.  Friday finished things off with another fun Ice Breaker about Christmas movies.  This week we learned that It’s A Wonderful Christmas Story when you go on Vacation with an […]

    Pingback by December 3rd, 2011 Week In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | December 3, 2011 | Reply

  12. Black Christmas (1974)…not the horrible remake.

    Comment by Pastor Matt | December 3, 2011 | Reply

    • I never saw it. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks, Matt!

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  13. Christmas Vacation, by far!

    Comment by Dustin | December 7, 2011 | Reply

  14. […] questions a couple of months ago, and I’ve been amazed at the popularity and response.  The Ice Breaker question a few weeks ago about Christmas movies is one of the top posts all-time on The Stretched Blog.  For those of you who are new or who […]

    Pingback by Ice Breaker – Resolutions « Jon Stolpe Stretched | December 31, 2011 | Reply

  15. […] Ice Breaker – Christmas Movies (the new #1 Ice Breaker […]

    Pingback by December 2011 Top Posts « Jon Stolpe Stretched | January 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

