Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Ice Breaker – Black Friday

It’s that time of the weekend…time for an ice breaker question!  For those of you who are new or who forgot, ice breaker questions are used to help people get to know each other – to “break the ice” so to speak.  I love hearing what other people have to say and how they think.  So for today, I’m throwing out another simple ice breaker question.  I’ll answer it first, then it’s your turn.  Answer the question by leaving a comment for us all to enjoy.  Thanks!

Question:  Today is traditionally known as Black Friday – when retail companies go in the ‘black’.  Do you participate in the Black Friday madness?  Are you an early bird shopper?  What’s the hot item on your shopping list this year?

My Answer:  Here you go….

Honestly, I’m not a big shopper.  I don’t like the crowded stores.  I’m pretty skeptical about the “deals”.  Are they really deals anyway?  As far as getting up early, I get up early to run and blog – but not to shop.  As for the hot item on my list this year, how about the Red Rider BB gun?  Just kidding of course.

This year, we’re driving back from New York City where we spent a few days with our family – taking in the sights and sounds and running the Thanksgiving Marathon.  I’m looking forward to kicking off the Christmas season with some good food, some holiday music, and plenty of time with my family.

So there you have it, my answer to the question.  Now it’s your turn….

November 25, 2011 - Posted by | looking back, questions, thoughts

8 Comments »

  1. Once I drove an hour to buy one gift. Then straight back home. I don’t ever want to do it again.

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | November 25, 2011 | Reply

    • What was the gift?

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  2. Black Friday—no thank you! I don’t enjoy shopping to begin with, so big sale days are totally avoided by me. We have downsized Christmas giving in huge ways here. We do not do gifts for any of the adults….only the kids and we only have 4 kids. They are all teens and want money so my Christmas shopping consists of writing checks! Easy peasy!!

    Comment by Leah Adams | November 25, 2011 | Reply

    • I’m with you. I don’t like shopping normally. What makes anyone think that I’d enjoy it when there are all those extra shoppers out there?

      Comment by jonstolpe | December 4, 2011 | Reply

  3. Absolutely not. We spend the day decorating the house for Christmas. I did brave WalMart today for some sparkling grape juice for our scoring breaks, but that was after noon. Things had calmed down by then. Hot items on my list? Pretty much my kids lists. Only one of ours wants cash this year though…. So far.

    Comment by Jeff Randleman | November 25, 2011 | Reply

  4. I needed a battery for my electric toothbrush (as of Thanksgiving Day–can you believe it?)–one stinking battery. So did I jump into the local WalMart buying frenzy for my single needed item? Not on your life. I’m now exercising muscles I haven’t used in years, the ones that push a toothbrush up and down.

    Comment by tnealtarver | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  5. […] thankful, and I gave a quick update on the marathon.    Friday finished things off with a fun Ice Breaker about Black Friday.  Check these posts out if you missed something this […]

    Pingback by Thanksgiving Saturday! We In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  6. […] thankful, and I gave a quick update on the marathon.    Friday finished things off with a fun Ice Breaker about Black Friday.  Check these posts out if you missed something this […]

    Pingback by Thanksgiving Saturday! Week In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | November 26, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

