Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Happy Thanksgiving!

I’m so thankful for today!  There are so many reasons give thanks.  Our family has a tradition of using a table-cloth every year for Thanksgiving.  Each year, we trace our hand prints on the table-cloth, and we write something we’re thankful for in each finger.  So here are my five things this year:

1.  Leanne – I am so thankful for her restored health.  I’m so thankful for her friendship and love.  She’s such an incredible mom and wife.

2.  Hannah – I blogged about her Monday.  It’s amazing to see how she is growing up.

3.  Isaac – I’m proud of him too!  He is kind, sensitive, and extremely talented.  He makes us laugh, and he keeps us on our toes.

4.  Blogging – This has been a big year for me when it comes to blogging.  I have really enjoyed this outlet.  And I’m especially thankful for all the friends I’ve met through the blogging community.

5.  Job – I don’t want to take this for granted.  I love what I do (most days).  I love the fact that I can help people succeed.

If all goes well, I’m running the Thanksgiving Marathon today (I’ll report more on that later).  Honestly, running could probably be another thankful point, but I’d have to grow a sixth finger on my hand.  I’m looking forward to returning home tomorrow and enjoying our Thanksgiving feast on Saturday.

Happy Thanksgiving!

What are you thankful for this year?

November 24, 2011 - Posted by | blogging, family, thankful, thoughts

14 Comments »

  1. Grow a sixth finger? Now that sounds like being stretched!
    Have a Happy Thanksgiving, and good luck with the marathon.

    Comment by Jonathan | November 24, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you, Jonathan!

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 24, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hope the marathon goes well today

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | November 24, 2011 | Reply

  3. There are just so many things to be thankful for, we could probably us both hands. I think you are on your 2nd tablecloth, & how nice (and sad) when we look back over the tablecloth, & find the outlines of those loved ones that are not with us physically.We are wishing all of you a Happy Thanksgiving, & wish you well in the marathon, Jon.We love all of you!! Aunt Donna

    Comment by Donna Shirley | November 24, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you!

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 24, 2011 | Reply

  4. Yes, today is a day of GREAT Thanksgivings. We, too, are so thankful for Leanne’s recovery and we pray every night for you, Jon, for understanding and help in her recovery. But we are also thankful for your patience and kindness and for the husband, father and son that God has molded you into. We are so thankful for Hannah and Isaac, too, and we are so proud of their accomplishments in life.

    We are thankful for Leanne’s sister, Lara, and husband Andy and Maleah and Ashlyn and for our good health. God is certainly good. We all have much to be thankful for and we thank God every day for our many BLESSINGS.

    Now, may God be with you today as you run your Marathon in NYC, May HE keep you safe and be right at your side throughout those 23 plus miles. May He also be with Leanne and Hannah and Isaac as they await your arrival at the finish line.

    Happy Thanksgiving. We love you all. Love, Mother and Dad

    Comment by Janet Lomicka | November 24, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks!

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 24, 2011 | Reply

  5. It is 2:45 my time Jon. Hope your marathon went well. I had a chance to get out for 22 miles on my bike this morning.

    Comment by bill (cycleguy) | November 24, 2011 | Reply

    • Marathon went well. Happy Thanksgiving!

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 24, 2011 | Reply

  6. […] post paralleled my upcoming marathon with life’s journey.  Thursday, I shared our family’s Thanksgiving tradition of being thankful, and I gave a quick update on the marathon.    Friday finished things off with […]

    Pingback by Thanksgiving Saturday! We In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  7. […] post paralleled my upcoming marathon with life’s journey.  Thursday, I shared our family’s Thanksgiving tradition of being thankful, and I gave a quick update on the marathon.    Friday finished things off with […]

    Pingback by Thanksgiving Saturday! Week In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  8. Jon, sounds like you have a lot of things to be thankful for!

    Hope the marathon went well. I ran a 5K on Thanksgiving. My wife and mother walked one. It may become a tradition in our family.

    Comment by Joe Lalonde | November 27, 2011 | Reply

    • Very cool. I’ve done a Turkey Trot 5K four or five times in the past when we’re out visiting my wife’s folks. It’s awesome to get in some exercise before the turkey fest.

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 27, 2011 | Reply

  9. Can’t wait to hear about the marathon. I ran a 10K on Turkey Day.

    Comment by robshep | November 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

