Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Tomorrow Is Marathon Day

Tomorrow I’m running the Thanksgiving Marathon. I’m ready. I’m excited. And yes, I’m a little nervous. Training for marathon is a long process. I started training back in May or June. It has taken a lot of time and a lot of hard work to get to this point. I’ve logged miles on local streets and trails. I’ve run on trails in Canada. I’ve run the streets of Cape Cod, and I’ve run around Gifford Pinchot State Park. I’ve even run on the boardwalk along the New Jersey shore. I’ve run in the rain, in the heat, in the light, in the dark, and in the freezing cold. I’ve run when I wanted to and when I didn’t want to run. Tomorrow’s race will be the longest run of my training season. And as tough as it sounds, I”m picturing it more as a celebration of the journey. I don’t know for sure what tomorrow has in store, but I’m thankful for this chance to remember that life is a journey and a marathon – it’s not a sprint. Life takes work, and it’s not always easy. So tomorrow I’ll celebrate running, and I’ll celebrate life.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart. Hebrews 12:1-3

What have you worked hard for in your life? How has life been like a marathon for you? What keeps you going when you don’t feel like you can keep going?

November 23, 2011 - Posted by | exercise, experiences, looking back, new experiences, running, thankful, thoughts

14 Comments »

  1. Jon, I keep two things on my desk at work. One is a rock that my daughter painted in Sunday school in 1998the when she was 4a for Father’s Day. The other is a note my son wrote me a couple of years ago telling me I was the best daddy in the world. When it gets hard at work, I pick them up, look at them and know why I go to work everyday.

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | November 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. The past two years (except this year) I trained hard for what is called the Hilly Hundred. It is 100 miles of some of the toughest hills in Indiana for cycling. Since I am committed to be somewhere on Sundays, I have cycled the Saturday route of 50+ miles. i got a great sense of satisfaction when I was done. Life is a marathon, a long distance run, not a sprint. What keeps me going? The pictures of my wife, now-grown daughters and grandson. I also have a big framed picture given to me several years ago of cowboys with Psalm 37:5 in the inscription.

    Comment by bill (cycleguy) | November 23, 2011 | Reply

  3. One day…i’ll run the Streets of Gold!!!!!!!!!! LOL…Amen!

    My band and I have been recording our first spanish worship album….

    and it feels like running a marathon! so much patience! and hard work too! Everything has to be so presice…

    Comment by Arny Sanchez | November 23, 2011 | Reply

  4. Good luck. In order to balance things out, while you are running a marathon, I will be eating a few thousand calories and watching football. Someone has to do it!

    Comment by Pastor Matt | November 23, 2011 | Reply

    • How did the calorie marathon go?

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 25, 2011 | Reply

  5. All the best for the race tomorrow – what a huge accomplishment. Don’t eat too much turkey beforehand 🙂

    Comment by Dustin | November 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Dustin!

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 25, 2011 | Reply

  6. Awesome… Good luck!

    Comment by Brandon | November 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks!

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 24, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Brandon. It went pretty well.

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 25, 2011 | Reply

  7. Praying for you tomorrow, Jon, as you run your Marathon in NYC. Praying that God will keep you safe and that your Marathon is a journey in celebrating your life. Go in Peace, celebrate life, and run like you never did before. ANyone else you know who is running? Will Leanne, Hannah and Isaac follow you? We alove you. Love, Mother and Dad

    Comment by Janet L. Lomicka | November 23, 2011 | Reply

    • I didn’t know anyone. Leanne and the kids were great supporters!

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 24, 2011 | Reply

  8. […]  Tuesday was a quick post indicating that I needed a break.  Wednesday’s post paralleled my upcoming marathon with life’s journey.  Thursday, I shared our family’s Thanksgiving tradition of being […]

    Pingback by Thanksgiving Saturday! We In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | November 26, 2011 | Reply

  9. […]  Tuesday was a quick post indicating that I needed a break.  Wednesday’s post paralleled my upcoming marathon with life’s journey.  Thursday, I shared our family’s Thanksgiving tradition of being […]

    Pingback by Thanksgiving Saturday! Week In Review… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | November 26, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

