Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Ice Breaker – Hair

It’s that time of the weekend…time for an ice breaker question!  For those of you who are new or who forgot, ice breaker questions are used to help people get to know each other – to “break the ice” so to speak.  I love hearing what other people have to say and how they think.  So for today, I’m throwing out another simple ice breaker question.  I’ll answer it first, then it’s your turn.  Today’s question is prompted by my recent haircut.  Answer the question by leaving a comment for us all to enjoy.  Thanks!

Question:  What’s the craziest haircut or hairstyle that you’ve ever had?  Or What’s the craziest haircut or hairstyle that you always wanted but never got?

My Answer:  Here you go….

Like I said in the introduction, I just got my haircut yesterday.  Today, I wear a pretty traditional haircut for a 39-year-old business person.  I don’t get my haircut nearly as often as I used to thanks to the ever slowing pace of my hair growth.  I don’t think I’ll ever go completely bald but I’ve noticed a thinning patch in the middle of my head and the front seems to be marching back – I mean recently at a decent clip.  Sorry for the awful pun.

My brothers definitely dabbled in the hair thing a bit more than me as they’ve both sported long hair down to the middle of their backs.  My craziest hairstyle was probably the summer (or two) where I used Sun-In to bleach my hair.  As a small kid, I was a toe-head – blond as can be, but as I started to get older, my hair went to dirty blond and then to brown.  So the bleached hair was definitely noticeable.  I’ll try to find a picture to throw up on the Jon Stolpe Stretched Facebook Page.  Now, the gray is starting to slowing make its way into the color palette.

Growing up in the 80s, I always wanted to shave lightning bolts and my initials into my head, but that never happened.  I don’t think I was brave enough, and I don’t think my parents were too fond of the idea.

So there you have it, my answer to the question.  Now it’s your turn….

November 4, 2011 - Posted by | looking back, questions, thoughts

15 Comments »

  1. The craziest haircut and the one I like the best of all I have had was my crew cut. I have a petite face and could wear it well. However, my husband hated it so I have not had it cut like that in many years.

    Comment by Leah Adams | November 4, 2011 | Reply

    • I used to have a crew cut at the end of high school into the beginning of college. I’d love to go that way now (and I may not have a choice soon enough), but my wife likes my hair a little longer.

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  2. I had a perm at one time. My hair has always been “high on my forehead” to the perm was designed to make it less conspicuous. I look at pictures now and realize how ridiculous I looked. I also did the Sun-in thing one summer. I went home to visit my mom and she was asked, “I didn’t know you had blonde haired son.” The one I never had was a mullet. I loved MacGyver and wanted to grow my hair long but I would have looked ridiculous. As it is, if I grow a beard I have more hair on my face than my head.

    Comment by bill (cycleguy) | November 4, 2011 | Reply

    • A perm? Nice!

      Who doesn’t like MacGyver?

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  3. Flat Top…bar-non! lol!

    Comment by Arny Sanchez | November 4, 2011 | Reply

    • I think a mohawk would have worked nice for you, Arny!

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  4. Jon: I know vanity is a great fault, but I have to confess, I have always been aware that God gave me the gift of a terrific head of hair. While I was never thought good-looking in my younger years, now in mid-life, I have to admit that my bountiful crop-on-top now gives me an advantage over my aging peers.

    It is a characteristic that runs in my family. My father is 88 and still boasts thick, curly hair, though of course it has grayed, but not totally.

    Because of this awareness of God’s bounty above my skull, I never went in for crazy hair styles. Aware that moderation is best in all things, I never deliberately grew my hair too long, though I sometimes wait too long between haircuts. I never went for the close-cropped military hair cuts that go in and out of fashion either.

    There you have it. Looking forward to seeing you next Friday.

    Comment by Michael Shaw | November 4, 2011 | Reply

    • Nice to see you back here and nice to chat (FB) with you the other day. Looking forward to lunch next week!

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  5. I had a flopped over mohawk in college in the early 90s. I was into the late 80s punk scene, and I lovved silk shirts too!

    Comment by Jeff Randleman | November 4, 2011 | Reply

    • I always wanted to try a mohawk – just once. My son has had one or two during the summer.

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  6. Jon, I grew up in the 80’s. So I grew a mini-mullett. I also let the front grow longer. My hair was fairly curly and I could pull it down just past my nose. The sides were cut almost to nothing and I had lines shaved in. I looked like a not quite as extreme member of the Stray Cats…..80’s Brian Setzerish.

    Comment by Larry The Deuce | November 5, 2011 | Reply

    • We may need pictures, Larry! Weren’t the 80s great?

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  7. Rat tail! You had to really have lived through the eighties to even know what that is!

    Comment by Pastor Matt | November 5, 2011 | Reply

    • I thought they were cool (for a couple of weeks). I never had a rat tail though.

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 6, 2011 | Reply

  8. […] 8.  Ice Breaker – Hair […]

    Pingback by November 2011 Top Posts « Jon Stolpe Stretched | December 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

