Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Ice Breaker – Tattoos

It’s that time of the weekend…time for an ice breaker question!  For those of you who are new or who forgot, ice breaker questions are used to help people get to know each other – to “break the ice” so to speak.  I love hearing what other people have to say and how they think.  So for today, I’m throwing out another simple ice breaker question.  I’ll answer it first, then it’s your turn.  Answer the question by leaving a comment for us all to enjoy.  Thanks!

Question:  Do you have any tattoos?  If so, what are they and why did you get them?  If not, have you ever thought about getting a tattoo?  What would your tattoo look like?

My Answer:  Here you go….

First off, I don’t have any tattoos, and most likely I will never get one.  For one, I’m a wimp when it comes to needles, and I’m not sure I’d be happy over the long haul with leaving something permanently on my skin.  But…

I’m intrigued by the whole tattoo thing.  I often wonder what goes into the decision process in deciding to get a tattoo.  I’ve definitely asked this question to many people before.  IF (and that’s a big if) I were to get a tattoo, I think I’d consider getting a cross on my upper leg where no one could see it.  I guess it would be more of a reminder to me of my faith, my hope, and my God.  I haven’t taken this thought all that far to determine the design, but my guess is that I would surround it with a Bible verse reference that represents me and my faith.

So there you have it, my answer to the question.  Now it’s your turn….

October 28, 2011 - Posted by | looking back, questions, thoughts

16 Comments »

  1. Jon, I don’t have a tattoo. I used to be adamantly opposed to them, but I’ve relaxed my opinion about them. I wouldn’t get one, but don’t care about others having them anymore. However, I still find myself profiling certain types of them.

    Comment by LarryTheDeuce | October 28, 2011 | Reply

    • It’s interesting how that works. What types do you find yourself profiling? Most all of them intrigue me. How’s that design going to look when your 20 years older? Why would you get something on your neck that everyone can see – all the time?

      Comment by jonstolpe | October 28, 2011 | Reply

  2. I don’t have a too…I think they are the devil’s handy work and people who have them will rot in…HELLO!!! I”M JUST KIDDING!!!! LOL….sorry had to go there…i couldn’t resist! lol…

    I don’t have a tatoo…i’m like you…allergic to any kind of pain…..but…some of that art is pretty cool….

    Comment by Arny Sanchez | October 28, 2011 | Reply

    • Arny, you are hilarious! Hope you have a great weekend!

      Comment by jonstolpe | October 28, 2011 | Reply

  3. If I got a tattoo, it would be Jon’s face, and I’d get it on my face, and I’d have it made of polarized ink, so if I looked in the mirror, I couldn’t see it unless I had a special mirror, and then it wouldn’t be me, but Jon instead.

    It’s me. No, it’s Jon. No it’s me. No, it’s Jon.
    That would be cool.

    Comment by Dan M. | October 28, 2011 | Reply

    • I think that’s a great idea. And I’ll get one of you on my face that does the same thing. You go first. Hope all is well!

      Comment by jonstolpe | October 28, 2011 | Reply

  4. I don’t have one. Don’t really want one.

    My wife wants a butterly/fairy on her back shoulder. I could go for that…

    Comment by Jeremy Myers | October 28, 2011 | Reply

    • Hey Jeremy, Welcome to the Stretched Community. Thanks for the comment!

      Comment by jonstolpe | October 29, 2011 | Reply

  5. I have a tattoo, but very few people know I have it because it looks natural. I have permanent makeup, which is really a tattoo. I have permanent eyeliner and eyebrow color. I don’t have any traditional tattooes and probably would not get one.

    Comment by Leah Adams | October 29, 2011 | Reply

    • This is what I love about ice breaker questions like this. You always learn something new. Thanks for sharing, Leah!

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  6. Well I will break the trend. I have 3 tattoos. On my left shoulder I have the Western Hemisphere. I have a Cross and icthus band on my right arm, and on my left outside lower leg(calf) I have a Sword with Hebrews 4:12 on the quillion. I got all of these before I turned 22. Most days I forget that I have them. As for why I got them? The first I was 19 and got the Globe. I was a Geography major in college and obsessed with maps. the other 2 had a little more thought put into them and like Jon mentioned I got them to serve as a reminder of the Faith I had at the time.

    Comment by bschebs (@bschebs) | October 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks for sharing. Apparently, most of my readers must not be inked. My question for you…Do you regret any of your tattoos?

      Comment by jonstolpe | October 30, 2011 | Reply

      • I don’t regret any of them, as to regret them would be to regret my past, which I don’t. If My body was whiped clean of ink and I got to choose today, where I am currently in my life, to get the same tattoos, I would not get those specific tats, but I would get another one, for sure.

        Comment by bschebs (@bschebs) | October 30, 2011 | Reply

  7. […] 6.  Ice Breaker – Tattoos […]

    Pingback by October 2011 Top Posts « Jon Stolpe Stretched | November 1, 2011 | Reply

  8. I guess I’m not in the majority here either. I have three. On my right upper arm, I have “Yeshuah” in Hebrew. My back has a triquetra superimposed over a flaming sun. Both of those are faith based. On my left chest area, I have the Storm Trooper 501st Legion patch that was my brother’s unit insignia. He was a Storm Trooper, yes, as in Star Wars. After he passed away in 2005, my other brother and I got these in memory of him. It has his insignia, and his legion # and the phrase “Remembering Mike.”

    The pain isn’t so bad. But they are addictive. I kinda want more…

    Comment by Jeff Randleman | November 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Very interesting, Jeff. What would you get for your next tattoo?

      Comment by jonstolpe | November 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

