Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Borrowed Beauty

Later this year, I will hit a milestone birthday – the big 4-0!  Honestly, I don’t think I’ve thought about it too much.  Although maybe I’m giving myself too much credit.  After all, my blog post today is starting with this thought.

At any rate, something happened last night that made me feel old.  Many of you know my daughter, Hannah, or have an idea of who she is thanks to my blog.  Next month, she will turn 14.  This is part of my aging process.  It seems like yesterday that we brought her home from the hospital in her car seat and sweater outfit that Grammy made for her.  Well, she’s not a baby any more.  My Sweetie is turning into quite a beautiful and caring young lady.

Yesterday as part of her Columbus Day holiday, she went Halloween costume shopping with Leanne at our local Goodwill store.  She came home with this beautiful red evening gown that she purchased for $20 with her own money.  After dinner last night, she tried in on for me.  Wow!  How did we go from a baby sweater to a flowing red gown so fast?  As I hugged Hannah and commented on her beauty, I asked her not to grow up so fast.  She smiled as if to say, “I can’t help it, and I’m proud of who I’m becoming.”

I’m proud of her as well.  As Leanne and I were talking about Hannah later last night, Leanne reminded me that Hannah is really on loan from God.  God gave us Hannah and Isaac to nurture and support for a little while, but they were never fully ours from the beginning.  They belong to God.  I’m so thankful for the chance to borrow these two amazing kids.  And yes, I will cherish each moment and day I get to spend with them.

How do you look at your kids?

What’s something you are borrowing that will one day need to be returned?

October 11, 2011 - Posted by | family, life, parenting, stretch, thankful, thoughts, trusting God

5 Comments »

  1. I feel you, bro. My son is only 8 but my wife and look at each often and just shake our head at how fast he has grown from a baby to boy. I don’t think we spend enough time focusing on how our family needs to be our first ministry. I grew up a preacher’s kid where “the church” came first. I posted today that I think we need to take this momentary stewardship so seriously that any pastor who has an unbelieving child should resign to wholly pursue the one lost sheep just as God has relentlessly pursued us. Maybe that is part of what Paul was talking about when he instructed Titus to only choose pastors whose children are believers because they have already demonstrated the heart of God. Blessings,

    Comment by Pastor Matt | October 11, 2011 | Reply

  2. Wow!

    Usually too many words when I write. But I will leave it at Wow!

    Comment by Mom | October 12, 2011 | Reply

  3. Awesome post, Jon. Beautiful daughter. Hard to believe that she will be 14 soon. Where did those 14 years go to? God definitely has control of our lives and we are all on loan from God. Love ya. Grammy

    Comment by Janet L. Lomicka | October 12, 2011 | Reply

  4. Jon and Leanne, I really appreciate the sentiment that our kids (and our lives) are on loan from God. It’s been so tough, yet gratifying, watching Ashlee grow up and walk out the door to college. And knowing that Josh is only 6 years behind her. It’s really an incredible experience to watch your children grow into adults, to see them branch out and explore all that life has to offer. And on a funny note, sometimes…just sometimes…they put into practice what you’ve taught them over the years. When Ash was packing for college she was super organized (me) and did a cost comparison spreadsheet for textbooks (Nate) and then she said “oh no, I’m turning into you guys”. 🙂 Have a great day!

    Comment by Tara | October 12, 2011 | Reply

  5. […] 5.  Borrowed Beauty […]

    Pingback by October 2011 Top Posts « Jon Stolpe Stretched | November 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

