Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

“Have You Ever Thought About Writing A Book?”

I’ve had multiple people ask me recently if or when I was going to write a book.  I guess I’m somewhat flattered.  And if I’m completely honest, the idea has crossed my mind.  After all, it would be an honor to follow in my dad’s footsteps as he as written some books to go along with his articles, studies, countless sermons, and other writing adventures.  (I remember my dad typing away at his typewriter and old word processor in our basement as he diligently worked towards a publisher’s deadline.)

I’ve thought about what I would write about and several ideas have crossed my mind, but I haven’t settled on one thing that says, “That’s it!” yet.  Here are some of my crazy ideas:

1.  Stretched – This could kind of me a compilation of my blog posts along with other stretch stories.  I’m not sure how it would all tie together, but it’s one thought.

2.  Why? – This would be my side of the story related to dealing with mental illness in my family.  Maybe this could be the story of discovering HOPE in the midst of HEARTACHE.  This one scares me as it would force me to revisit areas of my life that consist of pain and fear and lots of emotional scar tissue.

3.  Memoir – This would simply be stories of my journey.  Would this idea really be all that appealing to anyone but my mom?

4.  Something along my passion path – connection, community, leadership, integrity, grace…

When I think about writing a book, I have a lot of other questions.  Like why should I consider writing a book?  I write my blog for three main reasons:  1.  To process out loud some of the stuff that’s going on in my head.  My blog is for me.  2.  To honor God.  I want my writing to bring God glory.  3.  To help other people.  Whether it’s making people laugh or just giving some encouragement, I want to help people connect and move closer to God.

In writing a book, I would think that these reasons still apply.

Would people really read a book written by Jon Stolpe?  Writing a book and trying to get a book published sounds like so much work.  Am I really ready for that?

These are some of my thoughts.  Maybe someday, you’ll order your copy of my book on Amazon.  Until then, keep connecting here at Jon Stolpe Stretched.  (Thanks!)

What do you think?  Have you ever written a book?  If you could write a book, what would it be about? 

 

September 14, 2011 - Posted by | blogging, stretch, thoughts

12 Comments »

  1. You could always do an ebook…those are running around like crazy now a days…and i’d buy!

    I never really thought about writing a book….i’m a songwriter at heart and I love to teach the word of God…

    But these past couple of months since I took writing my blog seriously….and found my nitch in Analogies God reveals to me….a book is not a far stretch in my mind….

    maybe a small little book called…The Analogous life….and short analogies from everyday life…family, God, TV, Movies (which I would need permission for)….and so on….i think it could work…..

    but I got so much stuff going on….i’d have to wait….so The Analogous Truth blog will have to do for now…LOL…

    Comment by Arny Sanchez | September 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Well, I’ll keep following along at your blog, and if you do decide to write a book, let me know. I’d enjoy the read!

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 16, 2011 | Reply

  2. Jon: I believe that “Why?” is the book that is inside you and that you HAVE to write: Where our greatest fear comes from is also where we find our greatest gift.

    Comment by Michael Shaw | September 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Yes. I suppose that could be so. I’ve written a few things off-line related to this subject. Perhaps, I will add to it and see where it goes.

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 16, 2011 | Reply

  3. Jon – I wold read what you write, no matter which direction you go. Please make sure I can get it on my Kindle. It’s where I read and re-read my favs! I, like you, process my internal messiness through my blog. but to Michael’s comment, exposure is what I fear the most. You inspire me every time you visit the hard places so authentically. Keep it, my friend!

    Comment by Diane Karchner | September 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Diane, Thanks for the comment and encouragement!

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 16, 2011 | Reply

  4. I never know how much work writing a book is. And not just the writing…getting traditionally published is virtually impossible in some genres these days. When I was considering what to do with my Bible study, I had the ear of a major editor at a major Bible study publishing house. He looked at my manuscript, said I had great material, but I lacked name recognition. The bottom line is publishing, even Christian publishing, is a business and it is run that way first and foremost. For that reason, I chose to self-publish. I believe it is what God planned for the Legacy study, however, it is very expensive. I don’t even want to talk about marketing…..which is pretty much left up to the author with self publishing.

    I’m not trying to be a nay-sayer, but rather giving you some of the wisdom I’ve gained as I’ve walked through the process.

    Comment by Leah Adams | September 15, 2011 | Reply

    • Leah, I appreciate the feedback! I’ve heard many of these things before – even from my own dad who’s currently trying to get a book published. We’ll see where my writing goes, I know I’m not ready yet. And I’m sure I don’t have the “name recognition” that you mentioned as well. It could be an interesting journey!

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 16, 2011 | Reply

  5. I think writing a book can be a part of our journey with God and more for ourselves than we realize. Sometimes it stays there and doesn’t go any further, sometimes it shifts. I started writing a book a long time ago, but I wasn’t ready to move forward with it for a time. I needed to grow into the project. I picked it up several months ago and I knew I was ready and God had brought me to this place. I’m now almost 40,000 words into my novel and it is harder work than I thought, also more rewarding. I have ideas for future projects as well. And I’m really proud of the mentoring ebook I recently wrote. Most intimidating is the business aspect of it all, publishing and marketing it. I think, as painful as it would be, a book on your journey to healing as a family as you deal with issues of mental illness would be a really powerful story to tell.

    Comment by Beck | September 16, 2011 | Reply

    • Beck, Leanne enjoyed your e-book, and I think it will come in handy as she leads a group of mentor moms for the MOPS program at our church.

      I’ve started to write some things about this experience that I have saved away. I haven’t added to it for a while. But this may provide inspiration to revisit those writings again soon.

      I know from watching my dad that he had different writing ideas on-going and stored away for revisiting in the future. I think this can be a natural part of the writing process as we experience life – then write – then process some more – then experience some more life – then write – then edit….

      We’ll be excited to hear more about your novel.

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 16, 2011 | Reply

  6. […] 8.  “Have You Ever Thought About Writing A Book?” […]

    Pingback by Jon Stolpe Stretched | October 3, 2011 | Reply

  7. […] 8.  “Have You Ever Thought About Writing A Book?” […]

    Pingback by September 2011 Top Posts « Jon Stolpe Stretched | October 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

