Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

5 at Five

Five at five in the pouring rain

I hit the road and I feel no pain.

The lightning brightens up the sky,

I’m lost in my thoughts as my feet do fly.

Running brings me great relief,

I clear my head as I grit my teeth.

My body groans as I roll out of bed,

But it springs to life once the shoes do tread.

My morning run gives me time to ponder,

As I collect my thoughts and allow some to wander.

I’m thankful for these five at five,

When my soul wakes up and I feel alive.

I really appreciated my run this morning.  As I prepare for my day and for the 1st ever Perk Trail Half, these are just some of my thoughts.

Are you a runner?  What do you do on your runs?  What do you think about while you’re pounding the pavement?

September 8, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

11 Comments »

  1. I’m a runner to the fridge! LOL…

    My wife just picked up running for about a couple of months now…and she LOVES it!…

    She is actually trainning for the a breast cancer awerness 5k run on october 1st! she is excited!

    She tries to get me to walk sometimes…so I do……sometimes…lol…

    Comment by Arny Sanchez | September 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Arny, it’s funny. When I was in high school, I ran a season of cross country and winter track solely so I could be with friends. I hated running. Now, it’s become a tool for stress relief and refreshment. Walks are good…I took a walk with my wife last night. This has become one of our favorite after dinner rituals (on nights that have a little time).

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 9, 2011 | Reply

  2. Cool poem! I don’t really run…I play lots of golf, so I’m extremely tired from carrying a bag! 🙂

    Comment by Brandon | September 8, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks! My mom and my wife both thought it was a rap. (There’s a rapper deep down inside of me from my past. Maybe it will come out some day on the blog.) I haven’t played golf for a couple of years despite that I have a brand new set of clubs that have never been used. I’m thinking that there will be a time for this some day in the future.

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 9, 2011 | Reply

  3. I have a hard time getting up to run and have made a lot of excuses lately, but I know when I am in a good routine I feel better throughout the day. Running is also a great time to get all my thoughts sorted out.

    Good luck in the half.

    Comment by ramblinknight | September 8, 2011 | Reply

    • I couldn’t agree more. Actually, many of my blog posts are conceived while I’m running.

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 9, 2011 | Reply

  4. Also, I wanted to let you know that your book will be shipped out tomorrow! I hope you enjoy it! Thanks for being a contributor on my site!

    Comment by Brandon | September 9, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you! It’s a pleasure to help out and to be part of the community over at Big B. Thanks for continuing the dialogue over here!

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 9, 2011 | Reply

  5. I hate running but I do it weekly because it’s good exercise. I often am thinking that I can’t wait for it to be done.

    Comment by robshep | September 9, 2011 | Reply

  6. I started running about 2 months ago, and I will be running my first 5K next month! I never would have thought it, but I am really enjoying it. About 3 weeks into it I lost my Ipod, which I thought would be the end to my running career. Instead, it has turned into some pretty awesome prayer time!

    Comment by Nikki Weatherford | September 9, 2011 | Reply

    • Pretty cool! I’ve enjoyed running with and without my iPod. Congrats on your upcoming 5K! Keep on running.

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

