Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Top Posts For August 2011

I’m a big numbers guy.  When selecting my major for college, I chose Mechanical Engineering, because it had to deal with math and science.  When I run, I am constantly doing math in my head.  So it’s no surprise that I would be tracking different statistics and figures related to my blog.  August was a good month for Jon Stolpe Stretched.  I saw readership grow.  I found a consistent groove for posting worthwhile content.  And I saw community blossom through this on-line connection.  Here are the highlights!

Top 10 Posts for August 2011

1.  (Tied for 1st) Locks of Love

1.  (Tied for 1st) Reflect More, Risk More, Leave A Legacy – Start Blogging by Jason Fountain

3.  Heart Broken – Guest Post at Big B

4.  The Better Way by Terri Stone

5.  Less Like Scars

6.  Return to Blogging – My Wife is Back On-Line

7.  (Another Tie) Leading Through Conflict

7.  (Another Tie) The Gift of Camping

9.  (And Yet Another Tie) That’s My Boy

9.  (And Yet Another Tie) Finding Community On-Line

Top 5 Commentors

1.  Beck Gambill

2.  Michael Shaw

3.  Brandon

4.  Dustin Valencia

4.  Jason Fountain

I now have 13 regular subscribers.  If you’d like to become a subscriber, see the “Follow Blog” window on your right.  It’s great to see this starting to take off.

I posted 23 times, and my posts were limited to weekdays this month.  Despite posting four less times this month than in July, I saw the most monthly traffic to the blog so far.

Thank you to all of you for reading and contributing to the blog and to the reader community.  I’ve grown a lot through this experience.

As always, I love to share other’s “stretching” stories on my blog, so leave me a comment if you’re interested in being a guest blogger on Jon Stolpe Stretched.

Finally, if you’re a blogger, how did your blog to this month?  What was your top post?  What was your favorite post?

September 1, 2011 - Posted by | blogging, guest blogger, looking back, stretch, thoughts

10 Comments »

  1. I’m a civil engineer, I too do math in my head. I once bought a set of tires that was different than the ones on the vehicle and on the way back home calculated the difference in height of my vehicle (which involved converting from metric to English units). I was off 0.04 inches, not bad for head math. I’m also known for calculating whether or not the difference in ethanol and non-ethanol gas prices is worth it for increases/decreases in mileage. Being an engineer is not a career choice, it’s a characteristic.

    That said, I have about 7 subscribers to my blog via Reader. I’m constantly wondering if they get counted in my post view logs. Any ideas?

    Comment by Jonathan | September 1, 2011 | Reply

    • I don’t know the answer of your question for sure, but I have to assume that your Reader subscribers count in your post view log. If someone knows the answer to this question, please share!

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 1, 2011 | Reply

  2. I like what you got going on here Jon…you’re on my wordpress reader…

    Looking forward to future reads! lol…

    God Bless…

    Comment by Arny Sanchez | September 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Arny! You’re on my Google Reader. I greatly appreciate your comments and the content of your blog posts.

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 1, 2011 | Reply

  3. It’s nice to see growth and community begin to flourish! Looking forward to more as well. 🙂

    Comment by eileen | September 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Eileen!

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 1, 2011 | Reply

  4. Honored to be among your top 5 commenters. Keep going strong, Jon Stolpe. You are a math/science dude with a huge heart and soul.

    Comment by Michael Shaw | September 1, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Michael for the comments and for your continued contribution to this unique on-line community. Your feedback, encouragement, and participation means a lot!

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 1, 2011 | Reply

  5. Nice month! I’m not an email subscriber, but I do have you under my RSS. I don’t ever subscribe by email because it is not as quick for me…

    Comment by Brandon | September 4, 2011 | Reply

    • I appreciate it, Brandon. I do most of my blog reading through Google Reader, so I completely understand.

      Comment by jonstolpe | September 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

