Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Less Like Scars

“It’s been a hard year, but I’m climbing out of the rubble.

These lessons are hard, healing changes are subtle.”

– Sara Groves

Recently, I’ve had several people ask how things are going…how’s Leanne?  Almost a year ago, Leanne was hospitalized.  We’ve spent the past year recovering and rediscovering new normals, new priorities, and renewed appreciation and passion for each other, for friends and family, and for life.  God is good!

As I look back on my journal and my blog from the past year I see pain, loneliness, and despair, but I also see healing, connection, and hope.  Sara Groves song, Less Like Scars, speaks so clearly to my thoughts as I look back on this past year.

It’s been a hard year
But I’m climbing out of the rubble
These lessons are hard
Healing changes are subtle
But every day it’s

Less like tearing, more like building
Less like captive, more like willing
Less like breakdown, more like surrender
Less like haunting, more like remember

And I feel you here
And you’re picking up the pieces
Forever faithful
It seemed out of my hands, a bad situation
But you are able
And in your hands the pain and hurt
Look less like scars and more like
Character

Less like a prison, more like my room
It’s less like a casket, more like a womb
Less like dying, more like transcending
Less like fear, less like an ending

And I feel you here
And you’re picking up the pieces
Forever faithful
It seemed out of my hands, a bad situation
But you are able
And in your hands the pain and hurt
Look less like scars

Just a little while ago
I couldn’t feel the power or the hope
I couldn’t cope, I couldn’t feel a thing
Just a little while back
I was desperate, broken, laid out, hoping
You would come

And I need you
And I want you here
And I feel you

And I know you’re here
And you’re picking up the pieces
Forever faithful
It seemed out of my hands, a bad, bad situation
But you are able

And in your hands the pain and hurt
Look less like scars

And more like
Character

Today, I rejoice.  I praise God for significant milestones achieved in the healing process.  I’m thankful for a new compassion for families faced with the challenges of mental illness and other health problems.  And I smile as I realize the promise of a bright future with hope for tomorrow.  God is good!

(And by the way, Leanne is doing well – and so am I.  Thanks for asking.)

How are you?  How have you seen your scars transformed?

August 30, 2011 - Posted by | experiences, family, life, looking back, marriage, questions, thankful, thoughts, trusting God

7 Comments »

  1. Well done, Jon. Love ya. Mother L.

    Comment by Alan and Janet Lomicka | August 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks. See you on Thursday!

      Comment by jonstolpe | August 30, 2011 | Reply

  2. Beautiful post. Shows the amazing humanity and courage of both Jon and Leanne. An honor to know you.

    Comment by Michael Shaw | August 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Michael. It’s an honor to know you as well. I look forward to getting together sometime next month.

      Comment by jonstolpe | August 30, 2011 | Reply

  3. First of all hats off to Leanne. I respect her willingness to be vulnerable in a public setting about her struggles, that takes courage and humility! I love the Sarah Groves song you shared, amazing lyrics, I’m working to a healing place of my own. I love that in God’s mighty, compassionate hands all the two of you (and your family) have gone through is becoming beautiful.What a God we have! Thanks for sharing your heart and story Jon; for pealing off the mask to reveal the truth behind the circumstances!

    Comment by Beck | August 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Beck. It’s been a challenging year, but I believe that God can be honored through a certain level of transparency. Others need to know that God can and does work ALL things for good. We’re still learning these lessons on a daily basis. If we can point others towards HOPE then the transparency is worth everything. (And I think it’s part of our healing process as well.)

      Comment by jonstolpe | August 30, 2011 | Reply

  4. […] 5.  Less Like Scars […]

    Pingback by Top Posts For August 2011 « Jon Stolpe Stretched | September 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

