Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Keep Going

I took this picture on our Cape Cod vacation a couple of weeks ago.  It’s a boardwalk that takes you out to the edge of the marsh from Grey’s Beach in Yarmouth Port, MA.  I ran out to the end of the boardwalk three of the mornings we were there.

In the picture, it appears that the boardwalk goes on forever.

Some days, things can seem like this.  We have a tough day at work.  Our parenting doesn’t seem to be making any head way with our kids.  Perhaps, we’re facing health issues that seem unbearable.

The Bible provides encouragement to keep going when we’re ready to give up.  I often draw encouragement from these verses:

Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 3:13,14

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.  Galatians 6:9

One of the last day’s that we were in Cape Cod, I took Leanne out to the end of the boardwalk to enjoy the walk and view together.  The long walk was well worth it!

What are you facing today that seems like it could go on forever – that seems overwhelming or unbearable?  What keeps you going?

 

 

August 2, 2011 - Posted by | experiences, life, parenting, thoughts, Uncategorized, vacation, verses

10 Comments »

  1. Great encouragement! Often, what keeps me going, is remembering God’s faithfulness in the past. I can trust HIm when life becomes overwhelming because He has brought me through chaos before. One of my favorite verses goes well here. “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess because he who promised is faithful.” Heb 10:23

    Comment by eileen | August 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Eileen, I like that verse. I think your comment is a great reason to blog and journal – these activities allow us to record things in our lives for future reference. God has been faithful in the past. God is faithful in the present. And God will be faithful in the future.

      Comment by jonstolpe | August 2, 2011 | Reply

  2. I heard Tim Keller (Redeemer Presbyterian in NY City) give a great example about perspective when we are experiencing trying times. He said imagine that you have two people and you tell them that they are going to work for twelve months hard labor. Before they begin their work, you tell one of the people that they will received $20,000. However, you tell the other person that he will receive $20 million. How will their attitudes differ during the year’s work?

    Our Walk is like that as well. We know, through Christ, what our future will be. We have to embrace that, meditate on that, and believe that. Having that future perspective will make our daily challenges more bearable. We are working and Walking for a purpose – an eternal one that has been sealed for us!

    Comment by Jason Fountain | August 2, 2011 | Reply

  3. Sometimes I think all of life is one long race stretched out before us. When one trying circumstance resolves there’s another to take it’s place. That sounds cynical but I think in this broken world it’s true. I read Revelations 21 to my son, Max, last night. The light of God dwelling with man out shines the suffering of this life!

    Comment by Beck | August 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Amen. I long for the day when these present earthly sufferings will fade away – when we will experience God’s light in it’s fullest. This is why I keep going.

      Comment by jonstolpe | August 2, 2011 | Reply

  4. I am about a week away from being transferred to a job that will be 300 miles from where my family is. The move would be paid for, but my wife and I both are hesitant to rip the kids out of school and away from where they have spent most of their life growing up. I’m facing driving 600 miles a week to come home each weekend to be with them and it could be several years I have to do this. What keeps me going? That’s 10 hours a week I’ll be by myself just me, the road and a chance to pray.

    Comment by byrdmouse | August 2, 2011 | Reply

    • Wow, I can’t even imagine. I pray that God will give you and your family strength and stamina through this transition and distance.

      Comment by jonstolpe | August 2, 2011 | Reply

  5. Jon, What a great photo and analogy. Parenting can seem like that at times…’will this teen phase ever end?’ ‘Will they ever treat me like a human being again?’ “Will I ever have worth in their eyes again?’ Like your bridge, at times it does seem to go on forever. But I pray and hope that it will end and life will be a bit more comforting!

    Comment by beckyjane2 | August 2, 2011 | Reply

  6. Everyone goes through peaks and valley’s, yes, everyone. When you are on a mountaintop, it’s almost certain that there will be a valley. BUT, GOD IS ALWAYS THE ANSWER. Please remember, HE is ALWAYS at your side, always & forever no matter when or how long the valley is there. God will always get you through it.

    1. Valleys are: INEVITABLE (John 16:33)
    2. Valleys are UNPREDICTABLE (Jeremiah 4:20)
    3. Valleys are IMPARTIAL (Matthew 5:45)
    4. Valleys are TEMPORARY (1 Peter 1:6)
    5. Valleys are purposeful (1 Peter 1 6-7

    Please read and re-read: Psalm 23

    What to do with Dark Valleys:
    1. Refuse to be discouraged (Colossians 1:11)
    2. Remember God is always with you. (Isaiah 4:32)
    3. Always rely on Gods protection and guidance (Psalm 34:19)

    Comment by Janet L. Lomicka | August 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Sounds like you a good sermon lately. Thanks for sharing!

      Comment by jonstolpe | August 7, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

