Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

For Such A Time As This

I like my job.  I get the opportunity to help other people succeed.  I get the chance to support other people.  And I have the privilege of setting a tone and example for others to follow.  I confess that I don’t always get it right.  But I do pride myself on living with integrity and making decisions that represent Godly values and character.

Being in a management role, I have the honor of walking alongside team members as they celebrate the joys of life, but I sometimes have to provide support through their tough times as well.  Yesterday, I received some tough news from one of my team members.  He and his family are facing a very challenging time.  My heart was heavy yesterday when I got the news.  My thoughts and prayers have been with this family yesterday and today.

I don’t know what role I will have in the whole process.  But I do know that I will have a chance to provide workplace support to this individual as he focuses on what really matters at home right now.  Perhaps, I was put in my position a few years ago for just this time.  I pray that for them, and I also pray that I can lead in a way that draws others close to God.

As I’ve been processing this news over the past twenty-four hours, I was reminded of the story of Esther.  Esther was given a chance to be queen at a time when her people (the Jews) were facing persecution.  As a Jew herself, Esther had the opportunity to speak to the king and to sway him to protect the Jewish people.  The story is much more detailed than my explanation, but the gist of the story is that Esther was made queen at just the right time.  This verse from Esther 4:14 echoes this thought:

“For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such a time as this?”

Obviously, my position in management at my company is not quite the same as Esther’s position of queen, but I’m reminded that God can use us where we are at home, at work, in school, in the community.  Are we open to being used by God for His glory?

Where does God have you right now?  How do you sense that God may be using your current position in life to bring Him glory?

July 30, 2011 - Posted by | thoughts, trusting God, work

6 Comments »

  1. Very true, Jon. It’s important to be used where we are to support and love on those who are hurting. I have a friend who will find out in a few days if she has breast cancer.

    All I can do is continue to pray for her and to be there for her and trust God to handle it.

    Comment by Alex Humphrey | July 30, 2011 | Reply

    • Alex, I agree. Prayer is the most important thing we can do through times like this. I pray that God will also use you as your friend gets her news and moves on from there.

      Comment by jonstolpe | August 2, 2011 | Reply

  2. I’m so sorry about the news your co-worker received. I pray that God will use you to walk alongside of them and be Jesus to them. I’m reminded of the verse in Corinthians that tells us to comfort one another with the comfort that we have received. God bless you as you minister to them.

    Comment by Leah Adams | July 31, 2011 | Reply

    • Leah, Thanks for the encouragement. I actually received some encouraging news about my co-workers family this weekend. It sounds like it will still be a long road, but it looks more promising now than it did a few days ago.

      It was interesting – my co-worker actually acknowledged that prayer may have been part of this good news. God is good!

      Comment by jonstolpe | August 2, 2011 | Reply

  3. Jon: One thought on some of the issues you raise is that God is always there for us. One way to emulate God and help others is to be there for them, taking the time to talk to them and let them know you are thinking of them. Of course, this is not always as easy or simple as it sounds.

    You might be interested to know that the Book of Esther is the first time the term Jew is used to describe the people of Israel. It is also, I believe the first book of the Bible where God does not speak or take direct action. If I am not mistaken, the name of God does not appear in the Book of Esther. It is a spiritual shift where we are called upon to see God acting in our lives in less direct ways.

    Comment by Michael Shaw | August 4, 2011 | Reply

  4. Sorry to hear about the tough challenges your coworker is facing. Thankful for the reminder that He has us where He has us to ultimately bring Him glory. That is encouraging.

    Comment by Dustin | August 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

