Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Savor The Flavor

Here is a guest post by Alex Humphrey.  Alex is an author, coach, entrepreneur, husband, and Christ-follower.  I have enjoyed following Alex on his blog for the past couple of months, and he graciously agreed to share his thoughts and talents with us today.  I love what he has to say below.  Please chime in on his questions, and don’t forget to get connected with Alex.  Besides his blog, you can follow him on Twitter or Facebook.

(If you’re interested in guest posting on my blog, please drop me a comment.  I’d love to connect with you.)

Last week my wife and I had “a talk”. We haven’t been communicating well and it has left us feeling frustrated and making it hard to be open with one another.

It took a while, but we finally figured out what was going on:

  • My wife lingers on ideas. She sees books, movies, and even the Bible like a delicious meal where each bite needs to be savored, experienced, and understood before she can move on to the next.
  • I try to understand the ideas quickly so I can move onto the next one. If my thoughts were a meal it would be an all-you-can-eat buffet and I’d be doing my best to finish off 10 plates in 20 minutes.

After our conversation, God made it clear: I need to linger more.

Knowing God isn’t something that can be done quickly. We must experience him. Psalm 34:8 says, “Taste and see that the LORD is good”. The experience of lingering on a delicious bite is the same experience of understanding the goodness of God.

There are 3 lessons I’ve taken from this:

  1. One thing at a time – More than that and I miss out on something.
  2. Experience every moment – life is a marathon, not a sprint. Every moment should be experienced and enjoyed.
  3. Work until it’s done – My method leaves a lot of projects unfinished. From now on, part of experiencing every moment is finishing what I start.

When was the last time you really experienced an event in your life? What are you doing to help you experience more of them?

July 14, 2011 - Posted by | experiences, guest blogger, life, marriage, thoughts

19 Comments »

  1. Great post! Thanks for sharing! Sometimes, we need to slow down…I think for us guys, that is sometimes hard to do! 🙂

    Comment by Brandon | July 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Very hard to do! There are so many options, we never want to deal with one at a time!

      Comment by Alex Humphrey | July 14, 2011 | Reply

  2. Funny, I see this with kids (my own kids, other kids, etc) – I want to enjoy their life stage, right now, even if that means enjoying the hard times (not sleeping, not eating well, potty training, etc). Those stages and experiences are just as valuable and I want to remember(like you mentioned) that God has me in this position for a reason…

    Comment by Dustin | July 14, 2011 | Reply

    • Amen, Dustin. Thanks for sharing.

      It’s hard for me to really focus on what’s going on right now. I’m not sure why. This past week has been a lot of corrections and lessons and already I’ve felt myself falling back into the rut of trying to accomplish everything at once.

      I’m glad you’re experiencing every moment. Don’t give that up! My way doesn’t work.

      Comment by Alex Humphrey | July 14, 2011 | Reply

  3. Man this is timely. This is something I was so convicted of the other day. I’ve tried to make it a point to just spend more time with my family and to “be there”.

    Comment by Loren Pinilis | July 14, 2011 | Reply

    • It’s a lot harder than I thought it would be. Everything inside of me wants to fall back on what I’ve always done. I guess I trained myself well, haha.

      That being said, one week and I can already see improvements in my marriage and my life. God is good!

      Comment by Alex Humphrey | July 14, 2011 | Reply

  4. One of the 4th Century Desert Fathers (Poeman? i’d have to look it up) said (approximately – this is my paraphrase from memory, not a quote) that as a stone is hard and water is soft, water dripped repeatedly on a stone will shape it, so it is that our hearts are hard the the Word of God is soft but by repeatedly exposing our hearts to Scripture they are shaped to match the heart of Jesus.

    Describing meditating on Scripture, Henri Nouwen told me to think of it as a cow chewing its cud, extracting maximum nutrition. Just when you think you got everything, bring it back for fresh chewing and you’ll discover how much more nutrition remains. It is not a question of how much Scripture we get through, its how much Scripture gets through us.

    Comment by Norman Stolpe | July 14, 2011 | Reply

  5. Great guest-post!

    I’m reminded of the end of Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. Or, to put it more succinctly, “just stop and smell the roses.”

    Comment by Ixnayonthetimmay | July 15, 2011 | Reply

  6. Yes Alex! So much win here! Life has to be experienced, not just lived. Experience is using your senses to smell, taste and feel around us. Same with God.

    One of the most treasured moments was the birth of my children. I soaked in every minute of them. (of course I wasn’t the one giving birth. :))

    Comment by Moe | July 15, 2011 | Reply

    • That’s so cool to hear, Moe!

      Since writing this, I’ve discovered how difficult it is to change my ways! Even so, I’m enjoying the new opportunity to let my future expectations go and experience the now.

      Comment by Alex Humphrey | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  7. Those are great lessons learned!

    I, too, can easily get in the mode of trying to get through things as fast as I can. I want to accomplish much, I want to move on to the next thing, I don’t want to be left behind. I have to remember that the journey is just as important as the arrival.

    Thanks for sharing a bit of your life and some thoughtful insights.

    Comment by Steven | July 15, 2011 | Reply

  8. Great job as always, Alex. I’ve been working on lingering as well since my recent health scare. Blessings,

    Comment by Pastor Matt | July 16, 2011 | Reply

  9. […] Thursday:  Alex Humphrey – Savor The Flavor […]

    Pingback by I’m Back… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  10. Little behind in my blog reading, but I still wanted to weigh in! I have to say this was convicting to me. There are things in my life I love to linger over, but my mode of operation more often than not is “how many things can I do at once.” Classic Mom syndrome but no excuse. I struggle less with this in my quiet time with Jesus than I do with my kids, I so need to savor my moments with them more.

    Comment by Beck | July 18, 2011 | Reply

  11. […] 3.  Savor The Flavor by Alex Humphrey […]

    Pingback by Top Posts For July 2011 « Jon Stolpe Stretched | August 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

