Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Faith Stretch

Here is a guest post by Beck Gambill.  Beck is an author, mentor, wife, mother, and Christ-follower.  I have enjoyed following Beck on her blog for the past month, and she graciously agreed to share her thoughts and talents with us today.  Her writing is inspired and beautiful, and I love what she shares below and how she says it.  Please chime in on her questions, and don’t forget to get connected with Beck.  Besides her blog, you can follow her on Twitter.

(If you’re interested in guest posting on my blog, please drop me a comment.  I’d love to connect with you.)


Lately the very fibers and sinews of my heart are being pulled tight in a deep faith stretch. Three months ago my husband, Chris, and I took a risky step of faith. After serving as worship pastor for four years in a Wyoming church, due to some difficult circumstances and God’s leading, we left our place of ministry trusting God had a plan. My human assumption was that the plan would be revealed quickly and before long we would be serving in a new place of ministry. I was wrong.

We are thankful for dear friends who have graciously opened their home providing a place for us to stay while we wait. Yet I’ve learned it’s not good for a man to live without fulfilling work or a woman to be without a home. God knows this.

There are moments in the waiting that fear and hurt swell, choking off my breath. There are also moments of deep joy. The difference, I find, lies in the abiding. A tenacious sitting at Jesus feet decides if I will sink in despair or soar on wings of faith. Time in the word of God fills my heart with life-sustaining truth that counteracts the lies I would otherwise believe. Lies that say; God doesn’t see you, he has abandoned you, you’re not good enough, you have failed, you will never know fulfillment.

Daily I come, I press on, my spiritual muscles stretched and strengthened. As I come Jesus is always faithful to meet me. He recently revived my heart with the words of Psalm 18. Are you weary from the journey of life, stretched by your limitations or circumstances? Let me share some of those verses with you.

But in my distress I cried out to the Lord;
yes, I prayed to my God for help.
He heard me from his sanctuary;
my cry to him reached his ears…

He opened the heavens and came down;
dark storm clouds were beneath his feet.
Mounted on a mighty angelic being, he flew,
soaring on the wings of the wind.
He shrouded himself in darkness,
veiling his approach with dark rain clouds.
Thick clouds shielded the brightness around him
and rained down hail and burning coals.
The Lord thundered from heaven;
the voice of the Most High resounded
amid the hail and burning coals…

He reached down from heaven and rescued me;
he drew me out of deep waters…

He led me to a place of safety;
he rescued me because he delights in me.

 Can you see the God of heaven leap to his feet at the sound of your voice crying out in need. Imagine him take flight on the wings of an angel, thundering his approach, reaching down his mighty hand to rescue you! Like a mother stalking across the playground, determined eyes focused, set to rescue her child from the bully, so is our God with his own children. In a purely physical sense we may not see God on the move but we can be sure when we call out in need he hears and acts.

In the midst of messy circumstances God is stretching my heart to trust him. He challenges me to show up daily to sit at his feet to be fed. As I obey, my heart is comforted that God sees me, he rescues me and it’s his delight to do so.

Are you being stretched through difficult circumstances? How has God reminded you of his care?

July 12, 2011 - Posted by | blogging, experiences, guest blogger, life, stretch, thoughts, trusting God

15 Comments »

  1. Nice post. I’ve always loved Psalm 18. “He reached down from heaven and rescued me;
    he drew me out of deep waters…He led me to a place of safety; he rescued me because he delights in me. I’ve gone through seasons in my life when all I could do was cling to that promise. He is faithful to rescue us and protect us in those times in our life that are overwhelming.

    Comment by eileen | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the wonderful reminder that God delights to rescue us, Beck. I am literally being stretched right now by an immune system that is attacking my body, causing my muscles and joints to hurt constantly. I have fought this immune disorder for over 23 years and I grow weary of the battle. Thank you for reminding me that I am not alone, but have a Champion who rescues me.

    Comment by Amy | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  3. Thanks Eileen, I never cease to be amazed when I read those verses. What a reason to worship! I love that God’s faithfulness isn’t dependent on us, but on his strong character and desire to save!

    Comment by Beck | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  4. Those “difficult circumstances” are two-fold: one one hand, I find myself saying “Where are you, God!? I need to hear from you.” Then, on the other hand, I often hear myself saying, “Thank you God for being there the entire time and helping me along this trying time.”

    Perspective… and chosing to accept the fact that He is with me no matter what.

    Enjoyed your post, Beck.

    Comment by Dustin | July 12, 2011 | Reply

    • So true Dustin, perspective is crucial. I’m thankful for a God big enough to handle my questions and love me anyway!

      Comment by Beck | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  5. Great stuff! I really enjoyed this!

    Comment by Brandon | July 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Brandon!

      Comment by Beck | July 12, 2011 | Reply

  6. Jon, thanks for sharing Becks post with us! I’m new to your blog!

    Heart-touching post Beck. Congratulations on your guest post. I hope lots of new people find you and see how inspiring your blog is!
    Love ya, Becky Jane
    http://RiseAboveYourLimits.blogspot.com/

    Comment by beckyjane2 | July 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you friend! You are such an encouragement!

      Comment by Beck | July 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Becky Jane,
      Your welcome! It was truly a pleasure to share such great talent and words of encouragement.

      Comment by jonstolpe | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  7. Those streching times are filled with complicated feelings for me as well. Growing pains of faith!! Just as one of the above commenters menitoned I too can feel like “God where are you?” and then in the next minute see evidence of his presence. It is the trusting on an everyday, every minute level that I still need to work on! Great to see you guest posting. I always love to read your wonderful blog and am so glad that others will get to know you as well!!

    Comment by Kathy | July 12, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Kathy! I appreciate how faithful you are to read and offer support! I pray that God draws your heart ever closer to his, increasing your faith as you experience his faithfulness.

      Comment by Beck | July 13, 2011 | Reply

  8. […] Tuesday:  Beck Gambill – Faith Stretch […]

    Pingback by I’m Back… « Jon Stolpe Stretched | July 17, 2011 | Reply

  9. […] 2.  Faith Stretch by Beck Gambill […]

    Pingback by Top Posts For July 2011 « Jon Stolpe Stretched | August 1, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

