Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Where 2 Or 3 Are Gathered In My Name

Last night, was my M.E.A.T. night.  M.E.A.T. stands for Men Eating And Talking.  This is a small group of men that I’ve been meeting with for almost a year.  We meet every week on Wednesday nights at a local diner.  Usually, we have five to seven men who show up for a cup of coffee, a dessert, and informal discussion about a hodgepodge of topics.  This group is a break from the small groups that I’ve been part of in the past in that there’s no curriculum and there’s not really a designated leader.  It’s challenging for me to be part of this group, but it’s also refreshing to feel acceptance and inclusion as a group member and not a group leader.

The last couple of weeks the group numbers have been small.  Summer has a way of doing this as people are away on vacation or attending to other summer activities and responsibilities.  When I got the e-mails last night that there would only be a few of us again this week, I was tempted to stay home.  But I was reminded of this verse from Matthew 18:20 –

“For where two or three gather in my name, there am I with them.”

It turns out that it was a great night to be at the group.  I’m so glad I was there to gather with these men – to enjoy good food and sweet fellowship.  It wasn’t just the guys – God was there with us also.

Are you part of a small group?  What does your summer schedule and attendance look like?

July 7, 2011 - Posted by | experiences, small groups, thoughts

13 Comments »

  1. I am part of a small group of ladies who have been meeting in my home for Bible study for 11 years. In the beginning many of them had school age children and so when school was out, we did not meet. We have continued taking off in the summer. we miss our time together but that births a huge hunger to start back meeting again in August after school begins.

    Comment by Leah Adams | July 7, 2011 | Reply

    • 11 years! That is inspiring, Leah!

      Comment by jonstolpe | July 8, 2011 | Reply

  2. We where part of one before we moved this past week. The summer had caused our numbers to dwindle a little as well. We are starting the process of finding achurch to plug into.

    Comment by Adam | July 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Adam, I wish you the best as you pursue a new church. I know the fellowship in church and in smaller groups is invaluable.

      Comment by jonstolpe | July 8, 2011 | Reply

  3. That’s a cool name for a small group!

    Comment by Brandon | July 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks, Brandon! I can’t take credit for it, but I must say that the name is growing on me. Perhaps, the only better alternatives would be BACON or STEAK! I’m not sure what that would represent, but I’d love to be part of a group called BACON.

      Comment by jonstolpe | July 8, 2011 | Reply

  4. I am not currently involved in a small group (except Sunday School), but I’ve experienced their power in the past. A few years back, I met with a group of men for breakfast once a week. We worked through a few books. It was powerful and a great weekly reminder to re-focus and live intentionally for Christ. Thanks for the post!

    Comment by Jason Fountain | July 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Jason, Do you remember the books that your group used? I’d be interesting in hearing about them.

      Comment by jonstolpe | July 8, 2011 | Reply

  5. A leadership group that I am a part of has definitely seen the summertime lows. In the spring, we averaged around 10-12 people. Our last meeting a couple of weeks ago had a grand total of 2. Our time together though was incredible.

    Comment by Steven | July 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Steven, It’s amazing how that works! These summertime “lows” provide a chance for a different level of intimacy and transparency in the group.

      Comment by jonstolpe | July 8, 2011 | Reply

  6. That is easily the best name for man’s group…ever!

    Comment by Craig Allen | July 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Craig! I’ll pass that along to the guys in the group.

      Comment by jonstolpe | July 8, 2011 | Reply

  7. […] always blown away by the conversations that emerge from my weekly MEAT (Men Eating And Talking) Meeting.  And last night was no different.  The conversation at the table in the diner went deep […]

    Pingback by What Are We Doing Here? « Jon Stolpe Stretched | November 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

