Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Still Stretching – Looking Back and Looking Forward


Four years ago on this Wednesday, I started this blog. So far it’s been quite a ride. Here’s how it started 416 posts ago…

Well, this is the start of it all… I’ve been contemplating doing the blog thing for some time. You might be wondering where the“Stretched” thing comes from. For starters, when I was in high school at Rancocas Valley Regional High School, I was short – 5’6″ to start my junior year. Since then, I’ve grown to almost 6’6″. Many of my friends started calling me Stretch. On a more recent basis, I often feel “stretched” by all the things going on around me – career, marriage, parenting, church, running, reading, friendships, extended family, relationship with God, etc. (in no particular order). My hope is that this blog will provide an opportunity to express some of my “stretch marks” and to possibly hear your thoughts as well. So here we go….

When I look back at all the posts and comments since the start, I believe the blog has served this purpose. Here are some of the highlights: family vacations, Supernanny parenting group, Kids Camp and Stretch, the Perelman building, several movies, Elizabeth’s adoption, blog spotlights, book reviews, small group thoughts, and personal wrestlings.  Recently, I’ve also started guest posts which I think will add a lot to my blog experience.

From my tallies, I’ve had over 6600 visits to the blog since I changed to WordPress a couple of years ago, and I’ve had over 300 comments. It’s all pretty amazing.

So where do I go from here? Great question. I think it just continues. I’m quite confident that I will continue to be stretched in the coming year. So get ready, I’m sure I’ll have more stretch marks to share.

Until the next post, I’ll be stretching

How long have you been blogging?  Why do you blog?  Please feel free to include a link to your blog so others can enjoy.

July 4, 2011 - Posted by | blogging, stretch, thankful, thoughts

7 Comments »

  1. Hey Jon, congratulations on 4 years – that is awesome!

    My blog is now officially 6 months old. I started as a response to God saying, “You are in the middle of learning a lot. You don’t know everything yet; and, you are not perfect. But, you need to share what you are learning. Others need to hear it.”

    So, I am now writing about being intentional in family, life and leadership. The cool thing is that blogging is actually helping me to learn more and to be more intentional in each of these areas.

    Being new to your blog, I look forward to reading more from you!

    Comment by Steven | July 4, 2011 | Reply

    • Steven,

      Thanks for your comments. It has been exciting to meet new people like yourself through the blog world. I’ve enjoyed following your blog this past month, and I am also looking forward to reading more from you!

      Comment by jonstolpe | July 4, 2011 | Reply

  2. Jon, I’ve only been blogging for just over two months. I love your “stretching” theme because that is what life and a walk with God should be about. I started blogging, much like you said, because I had been “talking” about it for quite some time. I decided it was time to stop talking and find out if I had a voice worth listening to or not.

    Blogging has been challenging and uplifting at the same time. Some days I wonder why I’m doing it and other days I can’t imagine NOT doing it. It’s a strange paradox!

    Today I share FDR’s powerful prayer that he read to the nation on 1944 (http://bit.ly/iejtyl). It’s pretty amazing and still appropriate today.

    I look forward to following your continuing journey!

    Comment by Jason Fountain | July 4, 2011 | Reply

    • Jason,

      Thanks for the FDR post. I hadn’t heard this before. Thanks also for the continued thoughts that you have shared in your blog. I’ve appreciated your insights.

      I look forward to following your continued journey as well – keep writing my blogging friend!

      Comment by jonstolpe | July 4, 2011 | Reply

  3. I look forward to seeing where you go from here. I always enjoy your posts and I always leave with a smile on my face or something to think about or both.

    I’ve been blogging since we moved here in 2006 as a way to let everyone “back home” know what was going on with us. It turned into a chronical of my post cancer/reconstruction experience. And then morphed into a place where anything goes. I’m still struggling with work/life/blog balance and don’t write a fraction of what I’d like to. But I’m working on that. 🙂

    Comment by Jenster | July 4, 2011 | Reply

  4. John, Congrats on 4 years. This is my first visit to your page, but I am looking forward to reading more. I have been blogging for about 2 weeks over at http://courseadjustments.wordpress.com . I blog to share my fears, struggles and accomplishments with others so we may learn and grow together.

    Comment by bschebs | July 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Seems like your off to a great start already. I look forward to following along. Thanks for your comment and for following me as well.

      Comment by jonstolpe | July 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

