Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Bringing Consistency To My Blog

I’ve been thinking a lot about my blog.  I’d like to get into a routine of writing 4-5 days per week.  I’m thinking that it would be helpful to have a regular schedule for my posts in order to reach this goal.  So here are some of my ideas.

One day could be a family/marriage/parenting focus.  This would be an opportunity to share the “stretch marks” that go into raising my kids, investing in my best friend, and taking our family through life.

One day could be could be a church/ministry/small group focus.  I’m still trying to figure out where I fit into this whole picture, but I know there’s a passion for helping people connect to each other and to God.  This focus would be an opportunity to share the “stretch marks” that hit these areas.

One day could be a guest post.  I value what others have to say about what is “stretching” them.  If you would be interested and willing to put your “stretch marks” out there for the world to see, please leave a comment below.  I’d love to get in touch with you.

One day could be a miscellaneous focus.  The areas above remain primary in my attention, but there are other things that get my brain moving – leadership, blogging, hobbies, personal discipline, and other stretching points.

So this is what’s been on my mind recently.  I’m realizing though that a commitment to blog more consistently will definitely require some thought and sacrifice – and some accountability perhaps.

Do you blog?  Why do you blog?  How regularly do you blog?  Do you have a game plan for blogging on a regular basis?  How has this worked for you?

June 6, 2011 - Posted by | blogging, thoughts

13 Comments »

  1. I blog and really enjoy it.

    I blog because I enjoy getting the thoughts that are in my head out in the open and just sharing life experiences with others. I also love the community that comes with blogging.

    I try to blog 5 days a week.

    I am trying to formulate a better game plan…

    Comment by adam | June 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Adam, I really enjoy blogging as well. It has definitely been an outlet for me to process what’s going on in life and what’s going on in my head.

      I’ve appreciated plugging into your blog recently. I’ll be excited to see how your game plan develops for your blog. Keep me posted.

      Comment by jonstolpe | June 7, 2011 | Reply

  2. Jon — Quick thought: While I agree with your general goal of writing frequently and consistently I am concerned that the program you are outlining here may be too scheduled and rigid.

    A blog, in my opinion, is basically an online journal and a journal requires some spontaneity to work. I do think you have defined some good areas on which to focus.

    BTW: The template I use in WordPress organizes my posts into categories. Does your template offer that option?

    All the best!

    Comment by Michael Shaw | June 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Michael, I appreciate your comment so much. As I’ve thought about being more regular with my blog, I have thought a lot about my motives. I certainly do not want my blogging to become a chore, and I want to be open to the thoughts as they come. You can’t just schedule when life happens around you. I’ll have to look at your template.

      Looking forward to our next get together!

      Comment by jonstolpe | June 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Michael, I used to think exactly the same thing. But I’ve since changed my mind. My posting schedule is fairly rigid at 3-5 posts per week. I write on 3-5 topics all pertaining to leadership and youth ministry. My blog is not my “online journal” at all. My journal is handwritten and is personal. Not very much of it makes it online. My blog is a creative outlet, a leadership/ministry work in progress, and a community of like minded people.

      Jon, I think your schedule sounds pretty good, but my advise is to ease into it. Biting off more than you can chew too quickly can cause you to burn out easily. I started with 2-3 posts a week, and gradually increased to where I am now. I hope to make it to five posts every week in the next year or so. Pace yourself, so we can continue to read your good stuff, and not watch you flame out.

      Good luck!

      Comment by Jeff Randleman | July 5, 2011 | Reply

      • Jeff,

        I greatly appreciate your feedback. 2-3 posts a week is probably more reasonable at first. It’s interesting to see how God inspires.

        I agree about the journal comment. Occasionally, I’ll share something from my journal, but I leave most of that for myself.

        I’m looking forward to reading more of your blog – thanks for sharing!

        Jon

        Comment by jonstolpe | July 5, 2011 | Reply

  3. Jon,
    I like your thoughts. Blogging is definitely a huge challenge – both in coming up with blog ideas and in the actual writing.

    I’m very young in my journey, but I’m trying to determine if I have a voice that others want to hear.

    I’d love to guest blog for you some time. Maybe you could reciprocate.

    Thanks!

    Comment by Jason Fountain | June 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Jason, I think you definitely have a voice that other want and need to hear. For example, the thoughts you shared on your blog today (or yesterday) were very appropriate to what I need to process as a leader at work, at church, and at home.

      I would be glad to guest blog for you sometime. Let’s talk over e-mail about this.

      Thanks again!

      Comment by jonstolpe | June 7, 2011 | Reply

  4. I blog for one purpose: to amplify God’s kingdom!

    IO blog about 5x per week over at http://www.bigb94.wordpress.com

    Comment by Brandon | June 7, 2011 | Reply

    • I appreciate that as a motive. That’s certainly one of the primary purposes for my blog.

      Thanks for the link to your blog. I’m excited to follow your posts and be challenged.

      Comment by jonstolpe | June 7, 2011 | Reply

  5. I’ve found that having a strategy behind “why we blog” is so important (whether we realize it or not). it helps create focus, intentionality, and a measure of accountability.

    For me, I try to blog Mon/Wed/Fri…. three days a week (some weeks I’ll go crazy and do 4x). I really don’t have a plan as far as writing out posts before hand… often times they come to me the day before, day of, etc.

    Comment by Dustin | June 7, 2011 | Reply

  6. My blog is just entering its third full month and I’ve found that regular posting can seem a chore at times, but writing seems to make me want to write more. I’m not sure that your structure will be effective, from my own experience I don’t know what may strike my fancy on any day to blog on. If you have several posts prepared and ready to go it might work well. Michael Hyatt blogs on 4 different main areas, but one he hasn’t written about since Apr, its just what he feels like posting on at the time.

    Comment by byrdmouse | July 4, 2011 | Reply

    • I’ve discovered this as well. It’s funny that since I posted this a few weeks ago, I haven’t followed my proposed pattern at all. I guess it’s good to hear that Michael Hyatt (the blog king) hasn’t followed his proposed blog schedule completely either.

      I must say that this past month or so has been extremely enriching as I’ve processed my own writing and followed the writing of others. I will be following your blog now. I appreciate what you have to say. Thanks for sharing!

      Comment by jonstolpe | July 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

