Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Give Thanks In All Circumstances

So as an addendum to my previous post, we spent the afternoon cleaning up the basement – throwing away carpet, using the shop-vac to soak up the water, drying out some things, and throwing some things away.  Tonight, I had to laugh when Isaac prayed at dinner time, “…dear God, thank you that we got to clean the basement….”  My kids loved it that we got to clean the basement.  Isaac reminded me of a a few verses in I Thessalonians 5.

16Be joyful always; 17pray continually; 18give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Learning to be joyful always and to give thanks in all circumstances isn’t always easy.  I feel like my kids have been great examples for me.  Their faith is amazing.  Their ability to be thankful for things that drive me crazy is incredible.  My kids remind me over and over to make lemonade out of the lemons of life.  I am blessed beyond words.

October 2, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Wonderful words of wisdom, Jon. Very encouraging and uplifting, son. Glad to hear that your good friends came to the rescue yesterday to help out with the basement water, etc. So glad you have such great friends like dave and Cheryl and others that I can’t name at this time. May God continue to be in your lives and continue his healing process for all of you. We are all truly blessed by His grace and love. We love you guys. Love, Mother and Dad L.

    Comment by janet Lomicka | October 3, 2010 | Reply

  2. I think you should publish a devotional, Jon. Of course you’d need to give your family credit, where credit is due. We love you and give thanks for you, Leanne, Hannah and Isaac. We are blessed to have our 3 sons and 2 daughters (in-law) and 4 wonderful grandchildren. We are proud of the insights we learn from our children and grandchildren and God’s word, too.
    May the Lord continue to give you strength and thanksgiving in each new day:)

    Comment by Mom | October 6, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

