Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

The Chickens and The Bees

Life as a Dad can sure be challenging at times, hilarious at times, and sometimes a mix of both. I experience this all the time, and recently was no exception. For those of you who don’t know, I’m getting ready to raise chickens. I’ve been trying to put the finishing touches on a cool chicken coop. And the family is starting to get ready to receive the baby chicks next week.

Okay, maybe this idea is a little crazy, but don’t try to change my mind now.

At any rate, I few months ago when we were first talking this over as a family, I had a couple of hilarious/challenging conversations with my son, Isaac. Here’s how it went:

Saturday morning on my way to my saxophone lesson with both kids in the car…

Isaac: “Dad, what happens if we crack an egg and there’s a chicken inside?”

Hannah: Snicker…

Me: “Well, we won’t have to worry about that, because we aren’t getting any roosters.”

Isaac: “What do roosters have to do with it?”

Hannah: Snicker, snicker…

Me: “Well, you can’t have baby chickens without roosters.”

Isaac: “Oh…”

Me: “Maybe, we should talk about this later.”

That evening while I was washing the dishes, Isaac is hanging around me…

Me: “You remember that conversation we had this morning about the chickens and the roosters?”

Isaac: “Yes.”

Me: “Well, maybe we should talk about that some more.”

Isaac: “I think that will be an uncomfortable conversation.”

Me: “No kidding.”

A few weeks later, Isaac and I were alone in the car on the way to the mall, and we had a chance to discuss the 30,000 foot view of the fact that roosters and chickens were needed to have baby chickens just like dads and moms were necessary to have babies. We didn’t get into all the details, but I’m hoping this laid the foundation for more conversations.

As I think about this topic, I’m extremely grateful for the model my own dad gave me for talking openly and frankly about an “Uncomfortable” topic.
May 26, 2009 - Posted by | parenting

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

