Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Packing for Heaven

Some recent events and conversations in my own life pointed me to this simple fact yesterday:
 
I can't take institutions, money, or stuff with me when I go to heaven.  The only thing that I can take from here is people.
 
So how do I live my life knowing this?  Great question. 
 
I think that I often underestimate God's power:
 
"Now to him who by the power at work within us is able to accomplish abundantly far more than all we can ask or imagine, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen."  Epheshians 3:20-21
 
Just something I'm thinkin' about…
February 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. On March 18, 2009 I left a fragmented post on Face Book in which I reflected on this. The post turned out rather cryptic as I didn’t get the tech stuff right, but I wondered if it was part of what prompted your thoughts on “Packing for Heaven.” As we have started some “retirement” planning, I have reflected on the lack of institutional success in my career, yet the wealth of relationships we have enjoyed. The SYNC group on Face Book really reminded me of the value of the investment we have made in people over the years. I have had some fruitful conversations with my spiritual director and done some journaling on this awareness. Of course, one of the great rewards here has been our children and grandchildren. I was fascinated to see that you were doing some thinking along this line as well. Peace,
    Dad

    Comment by Norman Stolpe | April 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

