Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

Slow Down

Good morning! I just got off the treadmill at home. Nothing like running fast and getting no where. Do you ever feel like this? Last week was one of those week’s that was just non-stop for me. Monday night, we set up tables and chairs for the Providence Christian Preschool Thanksgiving Feast. Tuesday night, I was in Valley Forge for a PSPE dinner. Wednesday night, Isaac and I were at this Cub Scouts den meeting. Thursday night, I had a coaches’ meeting for the groups ministry at CCV. Friday night, Isaac had basketball practice. Saturday night, Hannah played in a Strings Fest concert. And this doesn’t even mention work or any of the other details.

As you can see I was busy last week. This kind of reminds me of something I picked up from Vince Antonucci‘s book – I Became a Christian and All I Got Was This Lousy T-Shirt. In his chapter titled “Speed,” Vince admits to the same problem that I have. In general, we both like doing things at 150 miles an hour. Do one thing. On to the next. Sometimes two or more things at once. Fast. Faster. Faster!

Vince’s thought on this problem is interesting. If you read the gospels, can you ever remember a time that Jesus was in a hurry? No seriously, think about that for a moment. Look it up if you wish. I don’t think you’ll find it. Jesus had three years of productive ministry, and it doesn’t seem like he was ever in a rush. His speed was more like 3 miles an hour. Think about that for a moment. The speed of love, the speed of Jesus, is just 3 miles an hour! Sounds like I need to slow down. Now that’s the challenge.

Actually, I’m looking forward to slowing down a bit later this week as we celebrate Thanksgiving.

Until the next post, slow down – you’re moving too fast…

November 24, 2008 - Posted by | thoughts

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Jon!

    Hope you don’t mind, but I tagged you on my blog. Please don’t feel any pressure to join in. Hope you and your family had a great Thanksgiving!

    Jen Kosydar

    Comment by Jen | November 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment