Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

No TV for a Month – Challenge

I’m hesitant to post this, because I’m not sure I’ll make it. But maybe you’ll share along in the journey or at least provide some encouragement along the way. Okay, I’m addicted to TV. I use the television as my relaxer. I watch sports (a lot), movies, reality TV, news, sitcoms, etc. I find that it can be my escape from reality – even for a few minutes. However, sometimes, I probably overdue it. There’s got to be many better things that I could be doing besides watching whatever.

So here’s the challenge, I’m going to attempt to go without watching the television for the whole month of August. This might not be a bad choice for months. After all, it’s the end of the summer reruns. The weather outside is certainly better than it is in the winter, and there are plenty of home improvement projects that could use my attention. More than this, I have a great family who loves to have my undivided attention. Sure the month of August is one of the longest (31 days), but I’m hoping that I can make it.

I’m sure I’ll blog about my adventures along the way. What do you think? Are you up for the “No TV for a Month Challenge?” Let me know!

Until the next post (or until the end of July – which ever comes first), I might watch a little TV…

July 28, 2008 - Posted by | television

7 Comments »

  1. Hi Jon from Brisbane Australia…I totally support you on this one, I'm not much of a TV watcher myself. just think of all the project you can finish, people you can talk to….anyway you still have the internet, right! Life is much to short to sit on yer butt an watch TV…couch potatoes & junk food what shear waste of energy….you will achieve your challenge, no if's but's or maybe's..it's only up to you….your choice….I'm also speaking for myself as well

    here's my latest blog http://visionariblog.blogspot.com/

    there is no try….only Do
    cheers

    Jimu

    Comment by Anonymous | July 28, 2008 | Reply

  2. Sorry dude, I’m too much of an addict. I need my fix even if only for 30 min at the end of a crazy day. You’re solo on this one buddy!

    Comment by Frank Chiapperino | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  3. Be strong and couragous!!! My thoughts are if you can do intense exercise program you can do this without a problem and God on your side!! YOU CAN DO ANYTHING!! Ps. You have encouraged me to get involved in a workout program…

    Press on!
    -Tim

    Comment by Anonymous | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  4. GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!! However, I know you can do it.

    Comment by aunt donna | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  5. Alright Stolpe; I’ll make the commitment to not watch any broadcast TV for the month of August. I will however reserve my privilege of watching the occasional movie with my wife. Like you I think my gang will appreciate daddy not checking out for something as dumb as TV. Thanks for the challenge (I think)

    Comment by Sean Healy | July 30, 2008 | Reply

  6. How about giving up the internet & computer with the exception of doing work !!! I think more people are more addicted to the computer than TV…just a thought.

    Comment by Anonymous | July 31, 2008 | Reply

  7. Wow, this has been one of my most commented on posts! Perhaps, I'm hitting a nerve. Last night, I realized that my "No TV for a Month Challenge" was falling right during the Olympics. What was I thinking?

    At any rate, someone commented about giving up the computer & internet for a month. This brings up an interesting point as to why I'm doing what I'm doing. As stated in my original post, I (Jon Stolpe) am addicted to the television. So for me giving up TV for a whole month is a big deal. I work on a computer most of my day – it's part of my job, when I come home I don't feel like I'm addicted to the computer. For some people, however, this may be a real addiction.

    So I would leave you all with this challenge. What is it that you're addicted to that is taking time away from your family and away from things that should be higher on your priority list? Consider giving that up for a month.

    Does that make sense?

    Comment by Jon Stolpe | July 31, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

