Jon Stolpe Stretched

What's S-t-r-e-t-c-h-i-n-g me now?

18th Anniversary of 18

Today, I am celebrating the 18th anniversary of my 18th birthday. Okay, actually I turned 36 today. I am now closer to 70 than I am to birth. That sounds a little gloomy when you put it that way, so that’s why I like thinking of it as the 18th anniversary of my 18th birthday.

At any rate, I really have had a great day today. I woke up to breakfast in bed provided by my two great kids. I hung-up the Christmas ornaments which is a separate post in itself. I attended Isaac’s second basketball game at the YMCA this afternoon. And tomorrow Leanne is taking me to see Jim Brickman in concert. I have truly been blessed.

All this birthday stuff always leaves me a little contemplative. This is the first year that I am not celebrating my birthday with my Grandpa Stolpe who passed away in February. I have accomplished a lot and grown quite a bit over the past year, and I look forward to an exciting year ahead.

It’s easy to wish time away as we look forward to the next weekend, the next holiday, or the next big vacation. What I have learned is that it’s important to live in the present while we celebrate the past and look forward with hope to the future. Last night, Leanne and I literally clicked back and forth between CBS’s Movies Rock and a showing of one of my favorite movies Click starring Adam Sandler. The clip of the movie below is a touching reminder of the importance of loving our families and keeping our priorities straight. Enjoy!

Until the next post, I’ll be enjoying what is going on now…

December 8, 2007 - Posted by | thoughts, video

1 Comment »

  1. John,

    Happy Birthday old man! Closer to 50 than 15 too! Hope all is going well for you and you are having an enjoyable December.

    Just wanted to let you know that having visited with the current AEX guys at Homecoming, it appears that some of the old traditions live on! Apparently, there is now an annual run to the Buhl on March 15th that is open to any junior who would like to participate! All participants sign the book “The School of Life” and it is returned to the book drop! It was quite surreal to here them talking of this important and enduring tradition! I have more details that I can share with you later!

    Hope the family is doing well! Happy 36th!

    Hack

    Comment by Hack | December 10, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

